Interior Decoration by Urban Outfitters

I’m planning to move out of my parents’ house within the next 12 to 18 months. It’s a terrifying concept. Not because I’ll be living on my own; I did that for four years in college. But because I’m blindly jumping into this new experience alone. Most of my friends don’t plan on making the same kind of step for another several years, for some reason or another. And since I’ve had a terrible history of roommates, I would prefer to share a house with the people I already trust and care about. But no one is ready to commit, even though I feel like I’m already prepared. :(

14356000_27_f

My boyfriend and I have discussed moving into a modest apartment together, and although I know that would be a more practical option, neither of us know where we’ll be a year from now.  :X It doesn’t stop me from fantasizing about the new place I’ll call home, though. In particular, I’ve been daydreaming a lot about interior decoration. It goes beyond color schemes, and I end up thinking about the fine details. Truth be told, the majority of it was inspired by all the wonderful goodies in the APARTMENT section on the Urban Outfitters website. I didn’t even realize how much they have in stock until I browsed through its entirety the other week! :o

20166310_011_b

To be honest, I’ve always associated the crowd that frequents Urban Outfitters with pretentious hipsters. But a lot of the decor on their website is actually practical, all while being trendy. In fact, a lot of their curtains and bedspreads feature simple and quiet patterns. A lot of floral print, too, which I’m obsessed with. Although a lot of what they carry are a bit expensive compared to large department stores like Target, I feel like every piece would bring its own unique presence into a room.

23644735_095_b

For example, I came across a pair of salt-and-pepper shakers on the website in the shape of dinosaurs. Completely unnecessary from a minimalist’s point of view, but would definitely bring life and personality into an otherwise plain dining room or kitchen. Same thing for the birdcage shower curtain and whale bathtub mat (which reminds me of Twitter’s “fail whale”) pictured above!

And admit it, nothing says “geek chic” like a chemistry beaker set for your fresh flowers. :P Their Maria Jewelry Box (which I’ve conveniently added to my wishlist) would make organizing a breeze, as well. I know I’m getting ahead of myself, but I just can’t wait to decorate! I already have several pieces of furniture in my current bedroom that would settle quite nicely in a new space. Speaking of furniture, my friends at Wholesale Furniture Brokers are offering some pretty sweet deals on section sofas. Just check out their website for more information. ;)

17600941_014_d

Oh, if only the rent in New York weren’t so expensive. :< I have so many things to save up for before moving out, the first being a car. So I have a long way to go in terms of budgeting before I should be thinking about interior decoration. But a girl can dream, right?
signature2

11 responses to “Interior Decoration by Urban Outfitters

  1. I have the same fantasies. My inner interior decorator has her own folder on the desktop with photos of bookcases and bedspreads. I love the floral curtains and little hanging coat rack. While I don’t do much looking into Urban Outfitters items, I imagine they must be pretty pricy for the apartment stuff, no?
    Sigh, a girl can dream.

    • Omg, that’s a really good idea! I’ll start my own folder, too. :) And yeah, they’re a bit pricey. I’m sure I can find similar items elsewhere. I just browse for inspiration, though. :<

  2. Best of luck moving out of your parents house. It’s a really scary and unnerving idea. I’m in the middle of deciding relocation stuff, and I’m losing my mind. I think I may be living the cardboard box as a table and mattress on floor scenario after college for a bit. Though I agree, Urban Outfitters has some quirky decor! There is one on UPenn’s campus, and I just stop and drool half the time. It’s predictable, but I’m going to say it anyway: I love the chemistry beaker vase set!

    • Where were you looking into relocating after college? A lot of my friends tell me that I’d fit right in Portland, OR. But that’s way too big of a step for me. If I’m going to be taking grad school classes at night and working full time, I’d have to stay in Queens or LI for the time being. :(

      • Lol. omg I am so sorry I keep unsubscribing to your blog by accident whenever I try to respond back to your comments.

        I was thinking of sticking as close to east coast as possible; a few hours driving distance of home. Most likely VA/MD area. Definitely not within a city considering the type of industry I want to find a job in. It might be a refreshing start for me though. I have no idea.

        I haven’t heard much about Portland. What is it like over there? Good luck with grad school! That sounds so cool! Are you planning to go soon? Have you decided what for yet?

    • Don’t worry about it. :P And I’ve heard very good things about Maryland – I had several residents in my dorm building who lived near Baltimore when I was an RA at Stony.

      I don’t know much about Portland, either. But people tell me it’s very much like Williamsburg, except more authentic. I would really love to get into the whole indie music scene there, too.

      As for grad school, Winthrop offers tuition reimbursement after working there for a year. I’m still not sure what I want to study, but night classes are a must since I’d be working full-time too.:<

      • Tuition reimbursement is a dream come true for a full time job. Congrats! I agree though it will be painful going through night classes and working full time >.< You can do it!

  3. Really good blog. Looking forward for more posts like this.

  4. Pingback: URL

  5. Pingback: IKEA Hackers: Interior Design Inspiration « Looking Through the Test Tube Glass

  6. Pingback: IKEA Hackers: Interior Design Inspiration | Scrapbook Idea

Leave a Reply

