My new appreciation for headbands.

Ever since I spontaneously decided to give myself blunt bangs last week with the help of a YouTube video and a pair of semi-sharp scissors, I’ve realized more and more how uneven and high-maintenance they’re becoming. And when they come into contact with the wind? Forget about it. I’m quickly learning that hairspray and headbands are going to be my two best friends until they grow out. I really regret cutting them, and I already miss my sideswept bangs. ;_;

DSC_7458

I’m glad the headbands that I already own are being put to good use, though. I received most of them as gifts, but I haven’t worn them nearly as much as I would have liked over the years. I actually found this cute one at my local 99¢ store the other day – the color scheme reminds me of the 4th of July and/or sailors. :D I actually wore it to a camera date on Friday with one of my friends Mia. We played dress-up and took silly photos in my backyard. :P So please do me a favor and hype my look? <3 Thanks! :)

nautilus

I’d love to expand my collection, though. Particularly with metallic headbands and those that have embellishments like studs, pearls, and rhinestones. Soooo, if any of you still don’t know what to get me for Christmas, here’s a hint. ;)

21840621-04

On a different note, in order to prepare for the next few weeks of holiday parties, I decided to restock on three things that will be necessary for me to pull off a more glamorous look: black gel eyeliner, tinted lip balm, and lip liner.

DSC_7481

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m obsessed with tinted lip balms. I picked up the new CoverGirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm in Jam Twist. It’s designed like a twist-up pencil, and the color payoff of this muted rose shade is better than I expected for a drug store brand – maybe because my natural lip color is already so pigmented and the balm just exaggerated it. It’s not too sheer, and not too opaque. The product itself is very lightweight, and doesn’t give you that gross creamy feeling. Which is fine by me, because creamier formulas are too soft for my liking, and tend to break inside the packaging. Rating: 5/5

DSC_7557

I also picked up the new Revlon Crème Gel Eye Liner in Black, despite my original intentions to buy the original liquid liner. It comes with a brush that seems too round and thick to apply precise lines, so I suggest using your own angled brush. After twisting off the cover, you’ll reveal the all-too-soft gel formula. It doesn’t apply as dark as the liquid liner, so you may want to wear black pencil underneath it or apply two layers for a more intense black. I’m a bit disappointed, to be honest. But unlike other drug store gel liners I’ve tried in the past, at least it removes easily. Rating: 3/5

eyeliner

Lastly, I bought the Rimmel Lasting Finish 1000 Kisses Lip Pencil in Wine. As many of my friends know, I love to wear bold red lipstick for my evening looks. Unfortunately, it’s the kind of color that bleeds so easily and ends up making more of a mess (mostly on your clothes and significant other) than it may be worth. Unless you get the application right, of course. :P It’s perfect for defining my cupid’s bow before lipstick application, or for shading my lips in entirely for that matte look. And for only $3? Good job, Rimmel. Rating: 5/5

DSC_7644signature2

5 responses to “My new appreciation for headbands.

  1. A shame it’ll take a while for your bangs to grow out, but they will eventually. :)
    Forever21 usually has cute headbands for cheap, thats where I get mine.

  2. Awww your new haircut looks so cute on you! I love blunt bangs, but I agree they are a pain. I got so impatient with mine that I kept re-cutting my bangs because I hated how they look when they grew out. Luckily I’m almost there to having non-blunt bangs again. Headbands are a great remedy. I have a bunch of giant bows, flowers, and pearl bead ones, though I think I have outgrown that phase since I wore them out. On a side note: completely adore your outfit. I wish I could hype it! Do I need an account?

  3. Btw,

    Hi there! I nominated you for a Liebster Award. If you are interested, take a look at my post for the rules & such :)

    http://chubbyriceball.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/the-liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

