The Birthday Massacre

First of all, let’s get this out in the open so that there’s no room to make  assumptions – I love the goth subculture. I know it may not seem likely at first, but from the fashion to the music, I’ve always found its dark influences appealing. So when my good friend Peter invited me to see The Birthday Massacre in concert last Saturday, I couldn’t say no. :) Not only have I been listening to them since early high school, but they had just released their new album a few weeks ago. And while many musicians’ work declines as time goes by, I feel the exact opposite about Hide and Seek. Although it doesn’t contain as many heavy tracks as their earlier albums, you can definitely hear how much their sound and songwriting has developed and matured since they formed in 1999.

102ac32807abc744f0f6fa61382b1a11

The venue was Gramercy Theatre, which I hadn’t visited since I saw Dir en Grey back in 2009, and is also where I will be seeing Emilie Autumn in February. :D We arrived just in time to grab a drink at the bar before the first opening band started playing. Without even knowing who else was performing, all it took was a single glance at the frontman’s mutton chops to know it was Creature Feature. A blast from the past, if you ask me, since I first discovered them on MySpace when I was 14 and haven’t heard of them since. They even played an old favorite of mine: A Gorey Demise, based on Edward Gorey’s The Gashlycrumb Tinies. Next up was Aesthetic Perfection, a electro-industrial duo whose lead singer sounded eerily like Marilyn Manson. (Don’t hate, it’s a good thing.) To be honest, they were my favorite out of all three of the opening bands. Mostly because so many of their songs were so fun to dance to. :P

The+Birthday+Massacre++900x650

The next musician to come on was William Control – who was dressed like a priest,  smoked cigarettes on stage the entire time, and was wearing his hair like Elvis. To be as concise as possible, he sounded like a VNV Nation wannabe. I do admit that his music has a lot of potential; I just think that most of his songs are very rough around the edges. When the time finally came for The Birthday Massacre to perform, I was beyond excited. I love Chibi’s voice, and she sounded even better live than on their albums. Unfortunately, the crowd wasn’t as energetic as I was hoping them to be. It’s really a letdown when you’re the only one actually moving to the music, and everyone’s just standing there like zombies and occasionally bobbing their heads. :< The band didn’t play too many of my old favorites, nor did they play the entirety of their new album like I was expecting, but I still had a great time. :) All of the photos that I took of the performance came out blurry, so here’s a photo of le boyfriend and I after the concert, instead. <.<;

IMG_4392

And since we’re on the topic of goth – a friend of mine recently commented on my most recent Facebook profile picture to say that I look like Misa Amane from Death Note. Since my hair is currently dirty blonde and I recently cut my bangs into a straight/blunt fringe, I suppose I can see the slight resemblance. :P Side note, I took both of the photos above and below with my old cheap point-and-shoot. The lens is a bit scratched up and I feel like the image quality has worsened since when I first bought it two years ago. Should I buy a new one? I was thinking of saving up for a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX20V to replace it.

IMG_4466signature2

2 responses to “The Birthday Massacre

  1. The question I have been asked most frequently by both readers of this site and people I meet in everyday life is, “Do you dress like this all the time?” The short answer is, well, yes I do. Not always in the same style or subset, and yes, I have days when all I can be bothered to do is pull on jeans and a band tee, but Goth fashion is a part of my life 24/7. Yes, even my PJs (I have many pairs of Gothy PJs. In fact, I am typing this whilst wearing a black PJ top with leopard print bottoms, and my black fluffy dressing gown). Obviously the dressier outfits that I am fond of don’t lend themselves well to every occasion – when I play badminton at the gym on Mondays, I wear loose black tracksuit bottoms and a T-shirt (usually black). When one has body mods, permanent hair dye, and has spent a lot of time and money amassing a spooky wardrobe, Goth tends not to be something you can wash off when you get back from the party. For many darklings, Goth is not just a music genre and their personal aesthetic, but something bordering on a lifestyle. Some enjoy finding ways to apply their preferred dark aesthetic to as many areas of their life as possible – for example decorating their desk, office or locker; home decor; their car (many Goths aspire to drive a hearse or PT Cruiser – personally I want a little purple car with black fluffy seat covers and skull’n’crossbone decals in black. I can’t drive yet, but I’ve already bought a ‘powered by fairy dust’ steering wheel cover…); their garden… some may even buy toiletries with spooky-sounding fragrances like ‘night violet’ and ‘midnight blossom’.

  2. i think death note and code geass are alike because they both surround a young male lead who has great logic skills.Both lelouch and light want to change the world for the better.Both also attain a power that can help them in doing so;lelouch the power of geass and light,the death note.

Leave a Reply

