Indecisive.

A lot has happened over the past few weeks. After applying to over 30 jobs that were relevant to my major, I figured it would be a practical decision to find part-time work to hold me over until my next career opportunity arose. Almost immediately, I landed a waitressing position at Torigo Japanese Restaurant – located conveniently close to home. I made some new acquaintances and got comfortable with the environment, since I thought I would be staying for several months (at least). Which made it even more difficult for me to quit after a few days when I was offered a full-time position at Theradynamics Rehab Management this past weekend. Can you blame me for assuming it would take me a while to find real employment in this economy?

Today was my first day working as an HR Recruiter, all the way in Woodbury. So far, I really like my coworkers. The office is much more friendly, professional, and welcoming than the last one I worked in. So imagine my surprise when I received a call during my lunch break from Winthrop University Hospital, where I gave an interview last Friday. Apparently, I had impressed them and they wanted to schedule another interview with me this week. Words cannot express how excited I am right now. But here is where I’m torn. If I am offered the position and choose to accept it, that would mean I left three jobs in the span of three weeks. I’m not going to lie, I feel flaky. Additionally, it makes me question my ability to commit. :( True, I can always leave them out of my resume. But I’m so paranoid that a thorough background check would reveal the income tax forms I had filled out for these short-term positions. Thinking about taxes in general get me nervous. >.<;

On the other hand, working at Winthrop would place me one (small) step closer to advancing my career. The starting salary is significantly higher, and it’s only a 20-minute bus ride from my house! :) Commuting has always been the biggest issue with me working on Long Island, since public transportation isn’t as reliable as it is in the city. So I’ve got my fingers crossed, and I’m hoping for the best. For the first time in months, I finally feel like my life is slowly falling into place. Wish me luck! ^.^


6 responses to “Indecisive.

  1. I am completely and utterly biased, so please don’t mind me, but I EFFING LOVE WINTHROP <3 They were the one who really got me serious about going into the science field and pursuing medicine. I absolutely loved volunteering with them for 2 years and got a scholarship.

    My personal opinion is that if it's not on your resume obviously, no one will ever know, as bad as that sounds. I would personally go with what helps your career goals, but first see how the interview goes and if you really like the people in the department and what the job entails. Best of luck!

    • Thanks! To be honest, my first two interviews at Winthrop were the most pleasant I have ever experienced. I’m actually looking forward to my third this Friday, instead of getting that usual nervous anxiety. >.<; What my concern is with the very short-term jobs is that they would come up on a thorough background check (even if I leave them out of my resume), since I filled out tax forms for them. :/

  2. I wish you lots of luck. I got laid off one week ago at an urgent care center in Levittow working as a mediical receptionist,and sent my resume for at least six jobs at
    Winthrop. My cousin who is the head nurse in the trauma center said just keep on sending resumes into Human Resources. I’m hoping for an interview soon.

  3. the product of primes

    Good luck! I’m glad to hear you’ve got a better job, I take it the commute isn’t as terrible as the other one you had either :D

    Also, I have absolutely no idea where any of these places are or exactly what they do or exactly what you’d be doing…. (brain of a person who hasn’t touched bio since freshmen year of high school)

Leave a Reply

