Trend Alert: Wedge Sneakers

They look like a sneakers, but are constructed like wedges. They’ve been around for years, but only recently have stores been pumping them out in every size and color. For the most part, I believe that a fashion shoe has the right to be on trend – but I just don’t like this particular one. Don’t get me wrong, I love sneakers! I actually own a pair of solid black Chuck Taylors that have been around for more years than I’m willing to admit. I just think wedge sneakers are impractical, and most of the styles on the market look downright obnoxious.

The design below was the only one that I could find that didn’t disgust me. Even so, I still probably wouldn’t wear a pair if they were given to me for free. When I try to imagine a situation where wedge sneakers are appropriate, I can barely think of more than a few. The most likely situation being that you’re going out with your friends for a casual get-together, and you don’t want to look like you’re trying too hard to dress up – all while reaping the leg-lengthening and figure-slimming benefits of heels. I can see the appeal in them for some women, but I just find it unnecessary.

It’s not as bad as the fashion monstrosity known as heel-less platforms, though. Now those make me question what designers these days are thinking. It’s a personal style choice that I will never understand, I suppose.

Personally, I’ve never worn a pair – so I can’t tell you what it’s like to walk in them. But I imagine that it isn’t very comfortable, as your entire weight is placed on the balls of your feet. I’m sure your center of balance would be completely thrown off after enough time in them. Don’t they remind you of horse hooves?

3 responses to “Trend Alert: Wedge Sneakers

  1. I was in skechers just yesterday to buy myself a new pair of sneakers when these monstrosities were offered to me. I couldn’t help but laugh.

  2. These are great wedge sneakers . I have a bad ankle and cannot wear any flats . These give me great arch support and they look good too.

  3. In my opinion this wedges are great. They can be worn in a casual or a more dressy way and that’s why they are so popular amoung teenage girls :)

Leave a Reply

