No, I’m not dead.

I know I’ve been gone for a really long time – and I sincerely apologize. Between work, friends, family, and le boyfriend.. it’s kind of difficult to juggle everything else. So I’ll do my best to summarize what an amazing summer I’ve had.


1) AnimeNext ’12 The last time I attended this convention was the summer between my junior and senior year of high school, I believe. Over five years ago! (Damn, I feel old.) It was a really strange experience, mostly because I feel like I’ve really outgrown the culture. Not only did I find few of the panels interesting, but the dealer’s room and artists’ alley didn’t excite me as much as it used to. :( Such is life, I guess. Regardless, I still had a great time! As I had mentioned in a previous post, two of my girlfriends and I decided to cosplay as Sailor Scouts, yours truly being Sailor Mars. After asking my mom to shorten the skirt by a good 3-4″, the costume that I ordered didn’t seem as terrible as I had previously thought. :P

2) Bikini Body. No, I don’t have the “perfect” figure to wear a swimsuit. But you know what? I feel so much more confident with my self-image now than I used to be. This was the first summer that I was comfortable enough to wear a bikini, and actually wanted to be tan. I think my boyfriend has a lot to do with the huge boost to my self-esteem, though. :P Needless to say, I spent plenty of time at the beach and pool this summer. ;D

3) Tattoo Eyebrows. I finally took the plunge and did it. After reading countless online reviews, I found a place called Tina Lee Skin Care. (I plan to write a full review once I have time to create and maintain a Yelp account to keep track of all the awesome new places I’ve been visiting, but for now I’ll have to make a long story short.) Located inside East Broadway Mall in Chinatown, this tiny beauty parlor is a gem. Tina was very professional and was patient with all my questions and concerns. She let me pick out the basic shape I wanted, adjusted it to suit my face, drew them on, applied numbing cream, and did the procedure by hand.


Tina working on another girl when I arrived early.

For only $200 (not including the generous tip I gave her), I received the same quality service that other places would have charged me over $600 for. She even includes a free touch-up a month after your first visit! :) Not going to lie, though, even with numbing cream it really hurt. >.<; It kind of feels like an x-acto knife running across your browbones for almost an hour. My eyes were tearing by the end of it. ;_;


Numbing cream applied before the procedure.

This was easily worth it for me, though, since I no longer have to draw my eyebrows on in the morning. I really like the shape and arch, too. The color does fade a little bit (she used “chocolate brown” on me), but I find it more natural-looking. I definitely recommend her, she’s the best. <3 The photo below is what my eyebrows looked like the next day, after most of the swelling had gone down.

4) Norweigan Sky. Yes, I went on a cruise to the Bahamas. AND IT WAS AMAZING. This may have been the last vacation I take with my family, since the next few years are unpredictable. But I enjoyed myself thoroughly. :) I can’t possibly describe how beautiful the water and islands were, so here are a few photos my dad took during the trip. :P


4 responses to “No, I’m not dead.

  1. Pingback: Can you see me as Sailor Mars? | kristina mirasol

  2. improperintegirl

    This reminds me that I should probably update my blog.

    Glad to hear about your self esteem boost, because you’ve always been beautiful :D

  3. It was good seeing you for a bit at AnimeNEXT, Kristina! I’m glad to see you were able to accomplish many of your goals over the summer and your boost of confidence :) Nothing is sexier than a confident lady. Best of luck juggling around everything. Dedicated blogging can be uber difficult when life is whizzing by lol.

Leave a Reply

