Garnier Nutrisse: #40 Dark Brown (Dark Chocolate)

I know, I’ve been neglectful of this blog lately. But to be honest, this is the happiest I’ve been thus far in terms of where I am in life right now. I’ve got a degree, a full-time job, a supportive family, wonderful friends, and an amazing boyfriend. Everything is looking up, and I feel optimistic for the first time in too long. Blogging can wait a little bit while I enjoy life for the time being. :)

Me and my brother on graduation day! :D

Of course, I can’t keep myself away for too long. :P I just wanted to share my new hair dyeing experience with you guys. It’s no surprise that I’ve decided to go dark again, since AnimeNext is next week. And although Sailor Mars has pitch black hair, I figured it would be too harsh against my tan skin (I went to the beach last Saturday!) and picked out something a little softer.

Garnier Nutrisse in Dark Chocolate transformed my locks into a deep, almost-black shade of brown. At first, I thought it was wayyyy too dark! But that’s probably because I’ve been so used to my hair being significantly lighter. I know it’ll lighten in the sun anyway over the next few weeks. :P What I like the most about this shade, though, is that the neutral undertones of the color make my warm complexion look much fairer and less yellow. :D I look like a mess from the humidity on the day this photo as taken, but it’s a pretty accurate representation of what my hair looks like right now.


Excuse the awkward 16″ height difference. >.<;

In other news, remember my recent craze over tinted lip balms? I just purchased  the L’Oreal Colour Riche Le Balm in Plush Plum (which I’m wearing in the picture above) and couldn’t be happier with it. It’s not as moisturizing as Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm, but definitely lasts longer and has a better color payoff. The selection of shades is much wider, too. Plush Plum in particular is a rich, not-to-sheer, not-too-opaque shade of plum with just the right amount of sparkle! It smells like vanilla, and definitely applies more red than purple on my pigmented lips. I’m tempted to buy a couple more in different shades. :P

I also bought a bottle of Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Midnight in NY. Black nail polish will always have a special place in my heart, and the multi-colored micro-glitter in this one had me at hello. :) Unfortunately, it’s not as long-wearing as the solid creme shades from the same brand. It was already chipping after less than two days, but maybe it’s because I handle a lot of paperwork at my job? ;_; A top coat is definitely needed, and it was my mistake not taking the time to apply one.

Anyway, I hope you guys enjoy the rest of your week. I’ll be busy basking in the glory that is youth and freedom. (I like to exaggerate.) Until next time! ^.^

2 responses to “Garnier Nutrisse: #40 Dark Brown (Dark Chocolate)

  1. Oooo I like your new hair color on you! How’s the new job treating you? I’m glad you are living it up!

    • Thank you! :D And work is going well. Since it’s only an entry-level position, I’m not making as much as I would like. But the experience is invaluable. They let me listen to my iPod while working, too! :3

Leave a Reply

