New Sephora Website in Beta

Before I begin my real post, I’d just like to do a quick review of two new products I’ve been using. The other day, I went to Target and picked up some new mascara and eyeliner – Cover Girl Lash Blast Volume in Very Black and Maybelline Master Drama Cream Pencil in Midnight Master.

I still haven’t made the jump into buying higher-end makeup, mostly because I don’t have much of a disposable income anymore. But in my opinion, mascara and eyeliner shouldn’t be something you splurge on. If you’re going to spend a lot of money on makeup, invest it in a good foundation. You don’t want to mess around with the cheap stuff when it comes to what you put on your skin daily.

Above is me wearing both the eyeliner and mascara. The application of the cream pencil is smooth, since the product is veryyyy soft. There’s no need to run it over twice – once is enough to get that perfect, dark line. My only issue with it is that it can get messy if you have shaky hands. There’s a lot of transfer to the lower lids throughout the day, too, which was a little disappointing.

As for the mascara, I wasn’t too happy with it. Not only is the brush shape terrible for catching my lashes in the far corners, but it’s way too easy to accidentally get product on your eyelids. The product itself doesn’t coat my eyelashes very well, either, taking up to 4 or 5 coats for me to be satisfied. And even then, it doesn’t lengthen or thicken dramatically at all. What’s worse is that because I bought the waterproof formula, it’s incredibly difficult to remove all of it at night before I go to bed. Not repurchasing.

Anyway, as a Beauty Insider at Sephora I was eligible to view the beta of their new website. I was actually very impressed with the changes. Not only is it more aesthetically pleasing, but they provide better photo viewing of their products. Which is definitely a plus for all the bloggers out there. :P Among the new features is the ability to filter everything even more specifically, Sephora TV (which reminds me of what MAC has been doing on their website for years), and checking for the availability of a product in-store before you actually go out to buy it.

Browsing their site inspired me to add a bunch of items onto my wishlist, too. :P The first is the Too Faced Natural Flirt Makeup Collection. I’ve grown very fond of the brand ever since purchasing their Natural Eye Neutral Eyeshadow Collection a few months ago. And for only $45, this kit includes every basic a girl could possibly want inside the most adorable bag. Do want!

I’ve been looking into skin care kits, as well, with the Philosophy: Great Skin Is In collection being #1 on my list. Specifically targeting consumers with Normal to Combination skin, this would be perfect for me! :D

I’ve been lusting after a new perfume, too. I’m almost done with my bottle of Marc Jacobs Daisy, and it’s about time I hunt for a new scent. I’ve owned two bottles of Vera Wang perfume before – Princess and Rock Princess. Although I loved both, the latter suited my tastes more than the former because it was darker. Which is why I think the new Vera Wang Princess Night would be a great match for me. And after reading what the notes were, I desired it even more. (Wild Berries, Watermelon, Raspberry, Jasmine Petals, Orange Flower, Passion Rose, Plumeria, Crushed Sugar, Creamy Woods, Sensual Musk, and Vanilla.) Chic, intoxicating, and mysterious? Perfect.

In other news, I’m super excited for next week! My friend Wade is visiting me in New York for a couple days, and I just can’t wait to show him around the city. He’s never been here before, so I’ll be doing my best to expose him to what Manhattan and the surrounding boroughs have to offer. :P Which reminds me! My friends at Gogobot have plenty to offer any travelers who are new to NYC. One feature in particular are their super useful New York City hotel reviews. If any of you are interested, definitely check them out – I believe they could be a great resource for any vacation plan. Until next time! ^.^

Leave a Reply

