Anticipating Spring! :D

For the past week, the weather has just been fantastic on Long Island. I can’t wait until I don’t have to wear a jacket anymore, and showcase all my Spring dresses and skirts. ;) But the other night, while I was browsing the American Apparel website during their flash sale, it occurred to me that I don’t own enough sleeved clothing – mostly because I hate wearing sleeves. Layering over tanktops is much more comfortable and convenient, in my opinion.

So I ended up ordering a cardigan and a shirt. :P Look at how much I saved! :o
Unisex Fine Jersey Double-Breasted Cardigan (S), $41.00 $16.00
Unisex Helvetica Alphabet T-Shirt (XS), $24.00 $6.00

First of all, let’s me get this out of my system.. AMERICAN APPAREL COTTON IS SO EFFING SOFT. I’m wearing this shirt right now as I type this, and I still can’t believe how comfortable the material is. Don’t even get me started on the fit! An XS is the perfect length, and despite being somewhat loose, doesn’t make me look like a shapeless bag. I was afraid of the sleeves being too long and the collar being too high, but neither of those were a problem for me. This purchase has definitely convinced me to buy more casual t-shirts from AA. <3


Excuse the dirty mirror. I really need to invest in a tripod. >.<;

As for the cardigan, I was a little disappointed that the photo on the website was misleading. I thought the buttons were going to be black, but they came in beige/brown instead. Because this is a unisex style, the fit is somewhat awkward on me when buttoned up all the way. But I prefer leaving it completely open, or only buttoning it up halfway or less. :) The material is also really soft, and thin enough to wear in the Spring on a windy day without feeling hot. And for what little I paid (compared to its original price tag), I still think it was a great buy. :P

In other news, I’m so excited to be attending I-CON this year! :) I haven’t been to a convention in forever, and how awesome is it that my university’s campus hosts one every year? :D Although this convention is mostly centered around science fiction (which I admit strays somewhat from my interests), I’m sure I’ll still find tons of fun things to do.

As for the costume that I will be wearing that Friday, the photo above inspired me to put together a “sexy pikachu” outfit. I was so excited to make a dress from scratch, but after looking at my academic schedule, I’ve realized that I have no time. ;_; Although I still plan to make the headband by myself, I ordered this dress from Charlotte Russe the other week. (I feel like such a cheater!)

I figured that a clubbing-style dress could be worn on more occasions than just a convention. The daffodil yellow color is perfect for spring, too! :P Admittedly, the openings on the side are a bit risque – but maybe that’s just because I’m modest. And although I don’t think the cut of the dress flatters my figure very well, I’m learning to cast aside my insecurities and wear what makes me happy. My only issue with the piece is that I can’t wear a bra under it – any suggestions for what to do? I hear that special band-aids or pasties will do the trick of hiding your nipples through thin fabric, but I have no experience with this. >.<;

On a final note, I want to let you guys know that I’m dealing with stress a whole lot better this semester. Even though I don’t think I did very well on my most recent exam, I know that I worked hard and did my best. All I can do now is hope that the curve boosts my grade, and enjoy the company of good friends every Thursday night before  graduate. :) Until next time! ^.^



7 responses to “Anticipating Spring! :D

  1. improperintegirl

    I’ve worn pasties before with a certain swimsuit I have that doesn’t have padding. They worked pretty well. I think it was like $7 for 3 disposable pairs. I also know they make all sorts of crazy bras for oddly cut dresses… try looking in a prom magazine for some ideas. That was where I learned about them XD

  2. I loooooove your sexy pikachu dress! the openings on the side remind me of the stripes he has on his tail & back :D! (lol as a super geeky cosplayer, I see symbolism in everything).

    I don’t know if you know of Joyce Leslie on LI (around the TJ Maxx & Minado shopping center), but they probably have some cheaper pasties.

  3. You’re gonna make all the nerdy boys drool.

    I am no exception ;)

Leave a Reply

