February Bulletin Board

Hey, guys! Sorry for the hiatus. I’m back on campus, but have been incredibly busy with work. Hopefully you all didn’t miss me too much. :) Anyway, I just wanted to share my bulletin board of the month with everyone! With Valentine’s Day coming up, I thought it would be appropriate to promote V-Day. It’s the global movement to raise awareness and end violence against women and girls. For more information, you can check out the official website.

For those of you who haven’t watched a performance of The Vagina Monologues, I strongly suggest going to one! My campus hosts a performance annually around this time of the year, and I don’t regret seeing it for the first time when I was a college freshman. Personally, my favorite monologue from the play is ‘My Vagina Was My Village’. It’s very haunting, dark, and personal. Here is Eve Ensler talking about the inspiration behind it, then later performing it.


I also decided to keep my door decs simple this month. I went into Adobe Photoshop and made name tags that say “Hello, my name is..” in six different languages! The paper I printed them out on was kind of thin, though, so I dont expect them to last very long before getting worn or ripped down.

In other news, I ran out of mascara pretty quickly this month. Decided to give Maybelline’s The Colossal a try. It was about $7 at Target, and the name was promising! I thought that if it was anything like Maybelline’s The Falsies, I’d love it just as much.

Unfortunately, I’m not a huge fan of the bright yellow packing or the brush. The bristles don’t catch every eyelash upon application, and makes it difficult to get product on in a few strokes. The formula itself is also very dry. So between these two factors, it takes a REALLY long time to get the effect I want.

Even then, my lashes don’t end up looking as dramatic as I would like. The length and volume just aren’t enough for my tastes. It give you more of a natural look, and the impact isn’t even close to “colossal”. Definitely not repurchasing or recommending. Until next time! ^.^


4 responses to “February Bulletin Board

  1. improperintegirl

    I don’t think I’ve heard of v-day, but I think its awesome that you’re promoting it. I’ve never seen the Vagina monologues,
    I feel really bad.. because that video is dark and haunting, but at the same time I find it hard to take some of the imagery seriously because it seems so hipster in nature. I’ve never been one to get poetry anyway >.<
    And sadly, if I can't take some of it seriously, I know douche bag men won't take any of it seriously. I think a better way to make that stuff work for them is to have to get them relate victims stories to women in their lives that they love.

    • I’m sure you can find a performance somewhere close to you as the date draws near! And I agree that some things are little overdramatic, but it’s just the style and the fact that it was written in the early 90s. :P

  2. That video is pretty hard to watch, but definitely gives good violent imagery and emotion to the viewers about what happened to those poor women. I think that one of the girls I know and volunteer with is thinking about performing one of the Vagina monologues.

Leave a Reply

