L’Oreal Féria: 50 Medium Brown (Havana Brown)

There comes a time when I become curious about other hair dye brands – when the sexy woman and her shiny hair on the cover of the box actually convinces me that I can in fact look like her. So despite knowing that Garnier Nutrisse is not only cheaper but also works with my hair type, I caved in and bought a box of L’Oreal Féria in Havana Brown anyway.

I haven’t used this brand since early high school, when I was still obsessed with having bright red hair. So I figured that stepping outside of my brand name comfort zone just this once wouldn’t hurt. After leaving the mixture in for about a hour, here are the results:

Maybe it’s because I had recently dyed my hair dark a couple of months ago that the color came out uneven. But it’s really not that bad. My roots lifted to a warm medium brown, while the length of the back turned a light golden brown. My bangs are still dark, though, which is disappointing. But I guess my previously bleached hair from last spring exaggerated the dye’s “multi-faceted” promise.

My hair also isn’t as “shimmering” as I would like. Garnier Nutrisse definitely makes my hair shinier – and this is from years and years of experience, btw. So although I don’t mind the color gradient, I think having four different shades of brown on your head looks careless if not styled. Ultimately, I’m probably not going to try L’Oreal Féria again anytime soon.

In other news, I was at BJs the other day when my mom pointed out this conditioner to me. I had heard of and seen the Organix brand before in drugstores, but never made a purchase. The promise of straighter hair is always appealing to me, though. The four main advertised ingredients in this product are coconut oil, keratin proteins, avocado oil, and cocoa butter – all of which are known to be great for your hair. The fact that it smells deliciously like cocoa butter is a huge plus for me, too.

And although I’ve only used this conditioner three times, it has already made a significant difference in the texture of my hair. Not only is it softer, but it feels healthier and smoother. Unfortunately, it isn’t straighter when I air-dry it. But I’m assuming it takes continued use to take effect.

On a final note, have you guys heard of the NoMoreRack scam? Personally, I have had no experience with the website. I do admit that many of the deals seem too good to be true! But after doing a bit of research, several other bloggers have had no negative experiences with them at all. You can even read NoMoreRack reviews with a quick Google search if you’re still not convinced.

8 responses to “L’Oreal Féria: 50 Medium Brown (Havana Brown)

  1. improperintegirl

    I know my sister uses one of the Lorel dyes in her hair, but that’s about it. Your first paragraph made me laugh, oh advertising and how it gets to us XD
    Sorry it didn’t work out so well for you, though it doesn’t look that bad in the pictures you posted.

    • Yeah, I’m trying to not listen to advertisements anymore. Instead, I want to trust only personal experience from reliable sources. x_x And yeah, hopefully it’s even out wish more a few more washes.

  2. I’ve been seeing these “keratin” products in hair products to give back nutrients and proteins for healthier looking hair. Let me know how it goes. And coconut butter lotion never fails dry skin, I would guess it would be an awesome hair moisturizer too.

    I actually like the your hair color! It’s nice to try different formulas every once in a while so your hair doesn’t get used to one formula (that’s what my mom says anyway lol).

    • Thank you! And I know what you mean. My body (and hair in particular) usually becomes resistant to the same product if I use it every day for a long period of time. So far, I’ve gotten consistent results with this conditioner. I loveeee the smell most of all, though. :)

  3. hi my names jennifer …. so do you think Garnier nutrisse light Auburn is a good color that is gonna be a come out to be a pretty red wat do u recommend for it to stay bright and Red ?

    • All of the Garnier Nutrisse dyes are great colors, in my opinion. Light Intense Auburn shows up better on previously dyed hair rather than virgin hair, though. In order to keep it bright red and avoid fading, I recommend only washing your hair every other day rather than every day and using a color-protectant shampoo & conditioner routine. :)

  4. I am about to use Havana brown by feria & I’m scared cause my have is bleached and then I died it with the splat red color about a week or 2 ago, and it is DAMAGED to the fullest ! :(

Leave a Reply

