Change is Good

I have had the same hairstyle for over four years. And you know what? It gets boring sometimes. So I decided that I was in desperate need of a haircut, especially since my ends were so split and damaged. Thankfully, I came across a 50% off coupon for the Katherine Jon Salon in the back of the free planner that my university handed out last week. :D

Katherine Jon Salon is located in Port Jefferson, NY – which isn’t far at all from my campus. Many thanks to my boyfriend Michael for driving me there, and sitting on a couch for over half an hour while I was seen! :P Anyway, I forgot to schedule an appointment but they welcomed my walk-in warmly. They gave me a guest consultation pamphlet to fill out, and I only had to wait about five minutes before Katie was able to see me. :)

I’ve been considering straight-across bangs for a while now, and never thought it would suit my round face. But I took the risk, and went for it anyway. >.<; I honestly don’t think it looks so bad on me. I really like how they’re long enough to cover my eyebrows on the lazy days when I don’t feel like drawing them on. I like how she cut them thin, too! So when they grow out, I could just sweep them to the side. :P I took this next picture with my phone, so excuse the poor photo quality.

What I like the most about having bangs, though, is how low-maintenance they are! I’ve only had them for three days, but I’m already impressed by how little effort I have to put into styling my hair in the morning. Whether I decide straighten, curl, work an up-do, or even go au naturel wavy.. it looks presentable. Unlike before, when straightening my hair to death was the only solution to not looking like a mess! x_x

Overall, I’m completely satisfied with this new look. I just need to start hitting the gym again, and lose all this extra face fat. Getting a more defined jawline is definitely my goal for this semester.In other news, check out my new sandals that arrived in the mail the other day! My last pair broke last week, when I clumsily tripped down a staircase. Thankfully, Zappos provided me with these Volcom Forever Creedlers in two business days! A size 6 fits me perfectly, and they’re so lightweight to walk around in. Even though it’s getting colder, a pair of sandals is always useful for walking around my dorm or to the local dining center in the middle of the night while wearing my pajamas. :P Until next time! ^.^

8 responses to “Change is Good

  1. Michael Mandrus

    No problem for waiting. It smelled nice in there :-)

    I’m glad you went through with the bangs – I told you it would look good! I just hope that it doesn’t get too annoying, though I haven’t heard you complain yet.

    And I don’t know what you’re talking about – you look great! I’m the one that needs to watch my diet (by going to Chilis with you tomorrow, obviously).

  2. Not to go all anime geeky on you, but your hair cut reminds me of Paradise Kiss (in a good way ;D):

    Although her bangs are much shorter than yours. Anywho, your haircut is super fitting on you! :D

  3. improperintegirl

    You look absolutely awesome with your new haircut!! Completely worth the risk!!
    I’ve thought of getting bangs once or twice.. but I think they wont work with my hair texture… since my hair is wavy/curly I can only imagine that if i had bangs they’d poof out like an 80’s rockstar’s on their own… not something I’d be happy with XD

  4. The fringe looks really good on you, definitely frames the face! Change is always good :) When I first got my fringe, it took a while to get used to it. They will grow super fast, so if you still like the look, trim them yourself every few weeks! It’s super easy, youtube it :P

Leave a Reply

