Sephora Birthday Gift :D

I apologize in advance for the quality of my photos in this post. They were all taken with my phone, instead of my actual camera, because I forgot to charge the battery. >.<; Anyway.. I went to the DMV today to get a new state ID card. And since Roosevelt Field Mall is literally a 5-minute walk away, I decided to spend my afternoon there. :D

First stop.. Sephora! Since I’m a Beauty Insider, I receive a free birthday present every year from them. :P This time, I got a Philosophy shampoo, shower gel, & bubble bath in Vanilla Birthday Cake. :D It smells DELICIOUS. I almost want to eat it! :o While I was there, I was also searching for a new eyebrow pencil. Unfortunately, the cheapest one they sold was $21. =/ I don’t think I could ever justify spending that much on something that I could easily buy from a drugstore for less than a third of the price.

Which brings me to my review on the Maybelline ExpertWear Brow & Eye Pencil that I bought at the convenience store on the basement floor of the mall. The first thing I raged about when I tested it at home was how much of a red undertone it has. Against my skin tone, it almost looks orange! D: The term “medium brown” is used so broadly in the drugstore cosmetics industry – it’s often difficult to know the true color of a product before you buy it. x_x

Thankfully, I still have a much-too-light taupe eyebrow pencil from several months ago that layers nicely over this to create a passable shade that matches with my hair color. Improvsation, ftw! : ) Other than the misleading neutral-brown color on the packaging, the product itself is mediocre. I definitely prefer Maybelline’s Define-a-Brow over this any day!

Next up: H&M.. how I love thee!! <33 I never fail to find something I like here, especially since all my other favorite stores have been disappointing me lately. I’ve noticed that as stores like Forever 21 gain popularity through the years, their selection of clothing decreases in quality with every season. At this point, it’s all about quantity and pumping out as much “trendy” clothing to the masses as they can. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve come to appreciate owning clothes that don’t fall apart after a few washes. :P

Anyway, I purchased the blazer in the photo above. Yes, $50 might seem like a splurge – especially at H&M, where everything is relatively inexpensive. But the cut flatters my shape so much! How could I resist? :P Even though I’ve gone down from a size 8 to a size 6 in the past few months, the fact that the single button on the blazer rests at the narrowest part of me gives the illusion of a defined waistline. There’s some light shoulder padding, too, but I don’t mind. I’m just way too excited to starting dressing it up or dressing it down once Autumn rolls around! :D

Oh, and the dress? I really wanted to buy it. There are few things I find cuter than a casual white dress with a black bow pattern. It was only $14, too! So why didn’t I get it? Simple: I’m not built like the typical European woman that H&M designs their clothing for. The waist was too loose, yet the bust area was practically suffocating me – a common problem that I have with the sizing at this store. ;_;

Last stop? Express. I’ve accumulated enough points on MyPoints to redeem a $25 gift card there, but I don’t want to have it mailed to me until I’ve settled into my dorm already. Anyway, I found a super chic faux leather jacket on their website, retailing for $98. Despite being cruelty-free, it looks and feels like real leather! :o

Upon trying on the jacket in the store, I found the material to be very comfortable and supple. Not only does XS fits me like a glove, but the cut is sexy and somewhat slimming. :D The inner lining is also a deep red, which basically wins me over. :P I can’t wait to order it! Hopefully, it won’t be sold out by then. >.<; Oh, and excuse my face in the photo above.

^ Story of my life. =.=’ Until next time! ^.^

5 responses to “Sephora Birthday Gift :D

  1. Michael Mandrus

    I must say, I really like that leather jacket. When you told me it was $98, I was like, “buy it anyway!” :D

    I don’t get what you mean with the bitch face thing? You don’t have a bitch face.

  2. improperintegirl

    I love that jacket!! It looks great on you! .. and now i’m consdering signing up for sephora’s club since i want free stuff on my birthday.. even though i’ve never bought anything from sephora because theyre too damn expensive.

  3. Oh yeah, fbaoulus stuff there you!

Leave a Reply

