Cowboys and Aliens

Yesterday, I watched Cowboys and Aliens. Despite everyone I knew being incredibly hyped for it, I wasn’t expecting much. I figured that the whole Western theme would completely clash with all the science fiction aspects. I went along anyway because who doesn’t love time with friends?

Anyway, I found the film to be surprisingly enjoyable. Especially since I don’t particularly like the action genre. Definitely better than the failure that was the latest and final Harry Potter movie. x_x The character of Jake played by Daniel Craig was a total badass throughout. I don’t care how old he is, he looks great in a vest. :P I wasn’t too thrilled with Harrison Ford’s role, though.

The way they depicted the aliens were terrifying, and I give them props for that. But as far as the plot goes, it was a little too linear and slightly cliche. The only real twist is when the character played by Olivia Wilde reveals her true self, and when we find out what really happened in Jake’s past.

By the end of the film, there were still some questions that I knew everyone was thinking. Why did the aliens even want gold in the first place? Why was the chamber where all the prisoners were kept so close to the exit? Despite their poor eyesight in the daylight, how were the creatures able to see and fight off the humans so well at the end? o.o Even though the details were a bit inconsistent, I do understand that the whole point of the movie was the action. So I can forgive them for overlooking those parts. :P

I also played Dungeons & Dragons for the first time! :D It’s not as nerdy as you guys think. : ) We had to use Lord of the Rings figurines, though, since we didn’t have anything else. And we didn’t have enough time to make our own characters, either, so we played with the pre-made ones in the book. It’s really fun to get into character, and be able to roll for whatever actions you choose to perform. This is what the Baldur’s Gate series was based on, after all. And I loved those games! It’s a shame that I’m going back to school so soon – I would have loved to make these D&D sessions a weekly thing. :<

4 responses to “Cowboys and Aliens

  1. I too was pleasantly surprised by Cowboys and Aliens. Despite the cast I just had a sinking feeling that it would be terrible. As it turned out, I thought it was a perfect summer movie.

    As for your first experience of Dungeons & Dragons., it’s great that you had a good time. I’ve always found it to be a fun escape. Kind of like an interactive book or movie.

    • I find it really cool that everyone can get creative with the game. As long as you have a good Dungeon Master, that is. :P I can’t wait to get together with people some more and continue our adventure – it’s much more productive than the lousy games kids are playing these days.

  2. Michael Mandrus

    I was really worried going in that the movie would suck. I was glad when it didn’t. Sure it was kinda cliche and lame, but when you think about it, that’s what Westerns are like – manly men staring each other down and punching each other.

    I don’t really care about any of the flaws though. It’s a dumb action movie and I expected that.

    oh, and NERRRRRD

Leave a Reply

