And I thought my orthodontic issues were over..

As I’ve probably mentioned to you guys before, I suffer from TMJ Syndrome. It’s only been about a year and a half since it started, but I don’t even remember what it’s like to fully open my jaw anymore. I used to have the clicking or popping sound every time I would try, but now the muscles and joint refuse to budge. :<

The most flattering photo of braces I could find on Google Images. XD

I mean, I’m no amateur to dental work – not only did I have braces in elementary and middle school for my overbite, but I also had a surgical procedure done to prevent my teeth from crowding. Shortly after I had my braces removed, I decided to wear my night appliance less frequently until I stopped completely. So it’s such a bummer that even after all this time, I still these issues. >.<;


I obviously can’t take a picture of my real retainer. :P

Just the other day, my dentist bonded a passive wire retainer to the back of my lower teeth. Hopefully, this will aid in repositioning my bite. I will also have to wear an appliance to keep me from grinding and clenching my teeth at night while I sleep, too, but I won’t be picking that up for two weeks or so. It feels really strange for my tongue to feel the bumps back there, but I know I’ll get used to it. It just sucks that health insurance won’t cover it, especially when more frivolous things are. I guess that’s just the world we live in, though. :'(

On a final note, here are some photos I took at work yesterday. The view and the breeze at the Hudson River is fantastic. :D Don’t forget that you can click to enlarge. : ) Until next time! ^.^


4 responses to “And I thought my orthodontic issues were over..

  1. improperintegirl

    one thing my cousin in his late 20’s was saying is that if obama really wanted to help people he’d make a dental and eyeglass plan since that is where most people get screwed… my bite guard cost at least $200, luckily my dad had a dental plan that covered it. when i first got mine it felt weird, and i’ve spit it out a few times while sleeping when i was first getting used to it. now i don’t notice it as much. the sucky thing is that my jaw can still start to bother me if i have to hold my mouth open too long at the dentist, or if i start chewing on something large like a bagel >.<

  2. Yikes that’s awful. I’ve never had braces, but my sister had a horrible case of them that took a couple of years to remedy. But as revenge, I think I have 4 impacted wisdom teeth making their way to destroy my mouth haha. good luck with your retainer. One of my roomies wears a mouth guard, too because she wakes up with a sore jaw some nights. I’ve heard her grind and pop her teeth/jaw in the middle of the night when we have “sleepovers” in each other’s rooms (I know, not so mature XD we all live in the same apt and still do sleep overs)

Leave a Reply

