Aussie Hair Insurance & Bad Teacher

I haven’t had a haircut in over a year. All the salons near my campus are just way too expensive! But because hair grows faster in the Summer, I decided that now would be the best time to get rid of all those gross split ends. I was getting really tired of my hair always getting in my face, too, so I asked my stylist to angle the front (so that it frames my chin better) and layer the back. ; )

I know it doesn’t look much different from before, but I didn’t feel daring enough to go for bangs like I had wanted to. >.<; Anyway, I got it done at the same salon that I’ve been going to since I was about eight years old. It’s called Touch of Class, and they’re located on 252nd st. & Union Turnpike in Bellerose. I was actually lucky that they had a $25 Tuesday special on wash-and-cuts, because I had no idea. XD

Also, because I’m desperate to keep my hair healthier this time around, I picked up a bottle of Aussie Hair Insurance Leave-In Conditioner at CVS. I actually happened to buy it on sale for only $3 , when it’s usually $7. Win! :D

It smells lovely and exotic, almost like piña colada. The main ingredients (after water) are aloe, silk extract, ginseng, and amodimethicone. How can you go wrong with those? :P After applying into damp hair and then air-drying, it really defines my natural waves. And apart from combating humidity, even after blow-drying and flat-ironing, it leaves my hair feeling incredibly soft and protected. <3

In other news, I watched Bad Teacher with a few of my friends the other day at the College Point Multiplex! Kirsten wrote a more in-depth review here on her blog. : ) To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much from the movie from to start with. In fact, I was almost sure it was going to be terrible. So imagine how surprised I was when I found myself laughing throughout the entire thing!

Although I’m not a huge fan of Cameron Diaz, she did play the role of “superficial, manipulative, half-assed teacher” well. And who knew that Justin Timberlake can actually act? Not me, that’s for sure. Jason Segel had the wittiest lines in the entire movie, though, and I’m not surprised. I loved him in Forgetting Sarash Marshall. <3 And although there were a lot of unrealistic scenarios throughout the movie, I didn’t mind very much since it was still hilarious. =)

I can’t say that it’s worth your time and money to see in theaters, since my sense of humor might be completely different from yours, but definitely try and watch it when it comes out on DVD or Netflix. : ) Before I go, here’s a group shot of me and my friends in the parking lot of the multiplex. It’s kind of obvious that we used the self-timer on the back of someone’s car and hoodie, isn’t it? But it’s capturing moments like these that make me glad that I carry my camera with me wherever I go. Until next time! ^.^

3 responses to “Aussie Hair Insurance & Bad Teacher

  1. improperintegirl

    I’m also cheap and get my hair cut at the salon I’ve been going to since I was 8! I see the same lady as well :D

    I’ll let my mom and sister know about the aussie leave in conditioner… if it’s also on sale at my CVS :) My sister’s hair has gotten really dry since she’s started dying it.

Leave a Reply

