Weekend with Michael ♥

As many of you already know, my boyfriend came to visit New York from Massachusetts this weekend! : ) I really appreciate that he was willing to drive 4 hours each way, and stay 3 nights at a local motel on top of that. <3 Although he arrived Thursday night, it was too late to do anything except for eat McDonald’s. :P


What a cutie – the flash was too bright for him! :P

DAY ONE
Because my checks are still being held at my university due to legal issues, we had to get some business done at the Social Security office in Jamaica. Not before he cooked us a HUGE honey ham omelette, though!

Then we headed straight to the Michael’s in Manhasset afterwards to pick up some scrapbooking supplies, since my old one was wrecked with liquid soap while moving out of my dorm room. >.<;

We bought a plain black 12 x 12 scrapbook, but it ended up being defective. :'( So we had to drive all the way back in order to get a free exchange for the same item. I really like the finish on it, though. The cover is semi-matte, and looks far better than the cloth-covered ones in the store. : )

Next up.. a paper stack! :D Originally $20, I grabbed this one on sale for only $12. ; ) The designs are so colorful and pretty. <3 I made a promise to myself that this newly reconstructed scrapbook will look far more professional than my last one – so I’m willing to spend the extra money if I can look back on this album years from now and feel impressed by our handiwork. :P

Lastly, we picked up some extra pages and glue sticks. I don’t think I’m ready to start buying prints of our photos from Walgreen’s yet, especially since we had about 300 photos to put back together. The smallest prints they offer are 4 x 6, which are a little too large for my taste. I was thinking about ordering wallet-sized prints instead, but I could always do that next time. :P Instead, we used a printer and cut them all out by hand. I might invest in a paper cutter once I decide to take scrapbooking really seriously!

Because the album is still under construction, and we didn’t have enough time to complete too many pages, I don’t want to ruin the surprise of what it looks like yet. :P But, of course, I had to include our collage of movie/museum/concert tickets on the inside cover. :D We also decided to go for a simple first page – a pretty background paper with stickers (courtesy of Kristiana) that spell out “Our Story”. <3

DAY 2
Our plan on Saturday was to meet up with my friend Mia and her boyfriend Billy for a double date lunch at a Thai restaurant called BKNY. Of course, we first had to take a ton of pictures before leaving my house! But I’ll save you guys the effort of scrolling down forever and just post one. :P

We left a little early, though, so we made a quick stop at a Barnes & Noble to pass some time. But when we finally did arrive at the restaurant, the first thing I noticed was the super colorful mural in the parking lot!

Michael took a photo of my outfit while we were waiting, too! (Excuse my mid-sentence face.) I only decided to wear tights because the weather forecast said it was going to be thunderstorming all day. As you can see from these photos, this was not the case, and it was actually hot and sunny. >.<;

Anyway, after Mia and Billy arrived, we took a table and ordered from the lunch special. Because I had never had Thai food before, I played it safe by having the Pork Pad Thai. IT WAS SO DELICIOUS. What made it even better was the spicy chili paste that was served to the table separately. :D

Oh, and let’s not forget the two people we were there with. : )

The rest of the day consisted of just hanging out at Peter’s house, but I unfortunately have few good photos from the time we spent there. :X

DAY 3
The original plan on Sunday was to go to the Bronx Zoo, until we found out that the round-trip toll would come out to $13. Not to mention that parking isn’t free there. :'( So instead, we spent the earlier part of the day walking through the bike trail at Alley Pond Park.

It was super sunny out, but at least I had a reason to wear my obnoxiously huge sunglasses. :P It got rather hot by 1pm, though. So we decided to drive to Roosevelt Field Mall for some air-conditioned goodness. :P


What’s in his hand? Papaya bubble tea! :3

Michael had to leave semi-early, though, since he had work the next day. So we ended our weekend together by eating chicken & rice from my favorite Halal truck for the 3rd consecutive day in a row. :P I really enjoyed our weekend together, though, despite only doing local things and how quickly his three days here went by. But I already can’t wait to see him again! <3

12 responses to “Weekend with Michael ♥

  1. I really enjoyed myself as well. I know a lot of what we did was eat, but for me it was all about the time spent together, not necessarily what we did. We always get to do stuff, but when I go the whole summer without seeing you, just being around you instead of just talking on our phones means a lot to me.

    I am looking forward to the next time! And meanwhile I’ll be missing chicken and rice and scrapbooking!

  2. Bubble tea! And I finally look decent in your photo. I thank you. <3 :3

  3. I’m really glad you had a nice weekend together!! :) (and that you got to use some of the stickers I sent!! Cant wait to see your album when its done ;D) hopefully if u guys have more free time next time we can go on a double date! :) haha

  4. improperintegirl

    I’m glad you had a good time! Sorry I wasn’t able to make the other thing you were planning.. >..< now I just need a color cartridge that doesn't suck so I can print my pictures.

  5. Yeah, I’m pretty sure comments read the “>” and “<" symbols as html. :P I loveeee scrapbooking. It can become expensive really quickly, though.

    • improperintegirl

      I’ve managed to keep it fairly cheap by recycling lots of things like wrapping paper we’ve used to wrap each other’s presents and random stickers I’ve gotten for free from time to time.

Leave a Reply

