The Domino Project: Poke the Box

As a BzzAgent, I am often given the opportunity to become involved in new ways to spread ideas and inspiration. In partnership with The Domino Project, as  Amazon e-book is sent to my Kindle Reader on my iPod Touch every month – three weeks before they are officially released! But since I was really busy during the school year, I never got around to reading and sharing them with you guys until now. : )

Poke the Box, by Seth Godin

“The job isn’t to catch up to the status quo; the job is to invent the status quo.”

Poke the Box is a very straight-forward book on self-improvement. It emphasizes particularly on the importance of initiative, risk-taking, and commitment. Godin wants to convince us that success is directly determined by our levels of awareness, education, connections, consistency, building assets, and productivity – all of which I agree with. He states that those things are not enough, though. The “final imperative” is passion or love for what you’re doing, which seems like common sense to me.

What Godin suggests we do to start becoming successful is “poking the box” – experimenting, trial & error, then modifying. It was at this point in the book that I decided to stop reading. Mostly because I felt that to continue would not give me anything more than I already know.

Moreover, the entire book has a very arrogant and know-it-all tone. Which, as you can imagine, was incredibly off-putting for me. Godin makes some very good points, but I just couldn’t find it enjoyable because it was too market and business-oriented. I felt like I was reading a really lame textbook, where every single word had to be defined for me. The use of weak and cliche analogies annoyed me, as well. The entire book was also sectioned awkwardly into groups of 2-3 paragraphs per “chapter”. Overall, it was a complete waste of my time.

Currently, I have two more books from The Domino Project to read: Do the Work by Steven Pressfield and Self-Reliance by Ralph Waldo Emerson. I’ll post about them whenever I can. :P In the meantime, here are three photos from the purikura booth in Flushing that I took with my friend Kristiana yesterday. :D


Excuse my derpy face here. >.<;


Isn’t she so pretty?! <3


And I felt so short here. XD Until next time! ^.^

4 responses to “The Domino Project: Poke the Box

  1. improperintegirl

    I’ve read bits and pieces of Self-Reliance in one of my high school english classes… Emmerson’s writing is amazing once you get over the difficult vocabulary (at least I thought it was difficult back in the day). Transcendentalists FTW!!

    • In that case, I can’t wait to start reading it. :)

    • I second this! I love Emmerson to pieces <3 GO WALKING EYEBALL MAN. One of my favorite quotes of all times is from one of his transcendentalist essays, Nature. Thoreau is another guy great to read during college according one of the teachers at Prep :)

      I love all the purika pics you take! You both look gorgeous in each shot :D

Leave a Reply

