Instead of buying new denim shorts..

..I made some out of old clothing that I never wear. : ) For the past two years or so, I’ve had two particular pairs of jeans – one that I bought at Charlotte Russe, and the other at PacSun. Ever since I’ve lost some weight, the thigh area has been way too loose on me, despite the waistbands still being comfortable. Especially with the introduction of denim leggings into my life, I haven’t touched these two pairs since. :P So last night, I decided to turn them into cuffed denim shorts! The process is quite easy.

You will need.. a pair of sharp scissors, black thread, and a sewing needle.

1) Fold your denim jeans in half, the long way. No less than two inches from the crotch, cut the pant legs off in a straight line.
2) Take the hem of one side, and roll upwards twice into a neat cuff. Sew the inseam and outseam in place with a few stitches.
3) Repeat with the other side. If the fabric isn’t sturdy enough to keep itself from unfolding, carefully sew one or two “invisible” stitches to keep them in place.

See? I told you it was easy. :D If you want me to be more specific, feel free to ask in the comments! I get the feeling that my instructions aren’t very clear. :P

In other news, remember the free pair of EOS Adult Pink circle lenses that I received from MyCandyEyes? I wrote a review on them a while back. Since I never wore them, I gave them to my good friend Jessica. They flatter her fair skin and features much more than mine! :D

She also gave me the idea for the two of us to cosplay as KOS-MOS and T-elos from Xenosaga III one day! It really doesn’t sound like such a bad idea – I just need to lose the weight in order to show that much skin. Regardless, when we do decide to do it, we’d look pretty badass with all that armor on. ; )


10 responses to “Instead of buying new denim shorts..

  1. Glad you were able to find a use for your old clothes! of course, I never have that problem. The crotches on mine rip before it becomes an issue ;-)

  2. Cuffed shorts are in this summer. Good for you :D

  3. Who doesn’t? :P I promised myself that I wouldn’t buy clothes until I lose ten more pounds. >.<;

  4. improperintegirl

    wow you’re so much neater than me with cut-offs. I normally just do my best to cut them evenly and then let them fringe, and I’ll roll them up if I want them to look nicer.

    • I used to just cut them off and leave them be – until they’d get wrecked in the wash because the denim would run. >.<; The extra time spent making sure the hem is in place is worth it!

  5. DIY denim shorts? I approve! I love using old clothes to make something useful!

Leave a Reply

