Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Today, Michael and I went out on a movie date! :D I’ve been so excited to see Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides ever since I found out that the plot would only follow the one and only Captain Jack Sparrow, along with a new leading lady played by Penélope Cruz. : ) The characters of Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly in the previous three films were a huge turn-off for me. =/

First of all, I felt a little old to be in the theater. I know that the film series targets young teenagers, but the previews were embarrassingly bad. They advertised the lame new television show The Nine Lives of Chloe King and the new Transformers: Dark of the Moon movie. The others were pretty awful, too. :X

Anyway.. Johnny Depp was great, as always. :P I enjoyed the way the movie played on the whole “Pirates vs English vs Spanish” and “Fountain of Youth” theme, although historically inaccurate and exaggerated. What I found most interesting, though, was the film’s portrayal of mermaids. Whenever I think of mermaids, I always create a connection to either Disney’s The Little Mermaid or The Sirens from The Odyssey. Not to mention, I love reading about the origin of various mythological creatures. : )

As far as the plot is concerned, it was pretty straightforward. It was more than “get from point A to point B to point C”, but it could have had more depth. I’m no film critic, though. I was surprised by the amount of sexual innuendos made throughout, though, since there were a ton of little kids in the theater. Regardless, it was an enjoyable film, despite the gratuitous amount of swordfighting and lack of background story on the character of Penélope Cruz. I was left wondering what happened to the missionary at the end, though. I mean, did he die or was he given eternal life? I guess I’ll just have to wait until the next film in the series! <.<;

I also wanted to show you guys the bangle that the mother of one of Michael’s suitemates gave me. I’ve been wearing it all day. : ) She brought it over from Beijing! :o I couldn’t get a good photo of it, though, since it’s so shiny. Hopefully, I don’t accidentally break or lose it. I’m so bad at keeping track of where I put my jewelry. >.<;

On a final note, I want share something that I forgot to post about the other week. There were these awesome sculptures that were being displayed in the art gallery inside The Simons Center, where I attended all my physics lectures. I can’t recall the name of the artist, though. :( Both really stood out to me because of the looks of pain/agony/anger on the faces. It’s amazing what artists can express through their work.


4 responses to “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

  1. I had a number of problems with the movie:

    -There was far too much gratuitous sword fighting compared to character development
    -Why, of all the times bad guys had guns pointed at them, did the bad guys not FIRE AT THEM AND KILL THEM?!?
    -Why had none of Black Beard’s crew ever seen him before, and all of a sudden they mutiny and he’s now in every scene?
    -Where did the missionary come from? Where did he disappear to? The Philip-Syrena story was interesting but they didn’t develop it at all.
    -Why is Jack Sparrow so dis-likable?
    -Why didn’t Penelope Cruz and Syrena make out? I expect more of Cruz after that stupid Vicki Barcelona movie.

    It was ok, but very linear and kind of just a lame action movie more than anything.

    Btw, after the credits there’s a scene of the voodoo doll washing up on the shore and Penelope Cruz picking it up. So you can bet there will be a sequel or eight.

  2. improperintegirl

    I haven’t seen the movie yet but I want to.. I liked Orlando and Keira in the first flim but not the next two. They made this weird unnecessary sexual tension or whatever it’s called between Jack and Elizabeth that messed up Jack’s original character. Though I’m not a fan of Penelope Cruz, she just comes off as a bitch to me for some reason. But I still plan on seeing it because I’ll see anything Johnny Depp’s in XD

    I’m totally ignoring Mike’s comment XD no spoilers for me.

Leave a Reply

