Roth Regatta!!

As you can see from the photo above, Michael and I had lunch at Subway today. I COULD EAT THERE EVERY DAY!! :D I always order the same thing: turkey and swiss cheese on toasted honey oat, all vegetables (except lettuce, spinach, and jalapeños), with light mayonnaise and chipotle sauce. So delicious! And only ~600 calories for a foot-long, apparently. :P It definitely made me feel better about how terrible my hair was. XD

Anyway, we attended Stony Brook University’s Roth Regatta afterwards. To quickly summarize, it’s an annual boat race on Roth Pond that anyone can enter as a team. The catch? You can only use three materials: cardboard, duct tape, and paint.

This year’s theme was “Superheroes and Villains”, which was quite exciting since many of the teams chose to build really creative boats and dress up as characters when they finally set sail. Even though many of the boats sank as soon as they were in the water, it’s the effort and spirit that counts. I took photos of my favorite boats! :D

Michael’s suitemate helped construct and row this Gyarados! :D


Ivy and Joker rowing their Gotham-themed boat!

A massive batmobile that had the batbike spring out of it mid-race. :P

Reptar from Rugats!


Powerpuff Girls! (Look closely at the “mast”)


Really impressive cardboard Bowser!


Team Beowulf!


The Red Power Ranger looking like he got punched. XD


One Piece!


Captain Planet!


Aquaman riding his seahorse!

Gyarados winning second place in the final round. :D

This was probably the best races at Roth Regatta we’ve had since I’ve been attending Stony Brook. (Probably because I’ve never stayed until the end during previous years.) I’m glad the weather was so nice, and that over 1500 students came out to support. I might consider building one for next year with my building. XD If you guys are interested, you can also check out the unofficial photo gallery here! : ) Until next time! ^o^

16 responses to “Roth Regatta!!

  1. You got some great pictures! Jason would like the last picture. I definitely underestimated the event this year. Though to be fair, this is the first one that hasn’t sucked. They were very organized this year.

  2. improperintegirl

    That boat competition looked like a lot of fun!!! The ones in your pictures all look really awesome! I’d love to participate in something like that someday!
    And I vote for light golden brown :D

    • I try to attend every year, but the previous ones were really lame. I’m glad that this one was actually really fun. : ) I wish we were allowed to make a cardboard boat and just sail it around Bayside Marina. XD

  3. improperintegirl

    actually, it would be awesome if you made a facebook poll and got everyone to vote for your next hair color ^^

  4. OMGsh that boat composition looks like so much fun :D! and your hair on a bad day looks better than mine on a decent day XD And I second Kirsten’s suggestion about the hair poll ;D

  5. Do you have more pictures of the batmobile?

  6. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am going through problems with your
    RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  7. Hi! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

  8. That is very fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to searching for more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your web
    site in my social networks

  9. Ahaa, its fastidious conversation regarding this piece of writing at this place
    at this webpage, I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

  10. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.

    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  11. I just couldn’t go away your website before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard information a person provide on your visitors? Is gonna be again frequently to inspect new posts

Leave a Reply

