Auntie Anne’s At-Home Baking Kit

I love food, especially baked goods! And who doesn’t love a freshly baked pretzel? I’m a long-time fan of Auntie Anne’s, and have been meaning to try out the At-Home Baking Kit that my mom bought from BJs ever since my brother’s birthday party back in February. And since it’s my last day home before I have to get back on campus to perform my RA duties, I figured it’s better late than never! : )


The kit comes with packets of yeast, dough mix, baking soda, salt, and sweet cinnamon powder! I only used about 1/4 of the ingredients, though, because I couldn’t find any more disposable baking trays in my house. All I did was mix the first three ingredients and 1.5 cups of water in a large bowl, wait a few minutes for the dough to rise, then roll it into shapes on a surface sprayed with extra virgin olive oil. Pictured below is the dough after I spelled out my brother’s name. I know it looks a little gross now but it gets better, I promise! :D

With the oven already pre-heated to 425F, I left the pretzels in for about 20 minutes. I was surprised with how much the dough expanded in the baking tray in such a small amount of time! It really reminds me of the bubble handwriting that girls used to practice drawing in elementary school. : )

They were a light, golden brown when I took them out of the oven – it smelled so good already! I had no idea if they were actually done, though, since I’ve never baked pretzels before. Unlike cake, where you can stick a toothpick in and check if the insides are ready, I don’t think there was any way to make sure that these were done without actually eating them.

Using melted I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter and a marinating brush, I painted the tops for extra deliciousness. On the top row, I sprinkled on the sweet cinnamon powder – because my mom has a sweet tooth. And on the bottom row, I sprinkled on the giant salt crystals. After we ate it all, it was decided that it could have used about five more minutes of baking, but the pretzels were delicious nonetheless! ; )


I really do enjoy baking, and I’m bringing my mom’s cupcake tins back to school with me so I can experiment making those. : ) On a final note, I never showed you guys the piece of origami that my boyfriend made for me the other week! I’ve mentioned before that he’s a pro at making modular origami, and thus created me a mini version of five intersecting tetrahedra. It’s so cute and colorful! And did I mention that it fits into the palm of my hand?

  Until next time!

8 responses to “Auntie Anne’s At-Home Baking Kit

  1. Lol, if you had just swapped the letters you could have baked yourself rather than your brother ;-) They look tasty. Next time you’ll know they’re done when they’re golden brown obvs. I kinda wanna make these now though. Some mustard on the side. Yum.

    • I actually prefer them to be soft on the inside! Haha. Btw, are you ready to bake cupcakes with me?! I have two tins in my suitcase right now. Red velvet or carrot cake?

  2. Mmmm you’re making me hungry!! lol those look soo good :) and the origami your bf made you is so cute! lol i have no idea how he made that but its definitely impressive lol

  3. improperintegirl

    I love those pretzels!! Yours look delicious! Now I want to make some.. but I’d want to see if I could find a way of making them with sour sough instead of yeast.

    Also, the origami that your boyfriend made is awesome… I can’t believe how small you said it is!!

    • I love sour dough pretzels! <3 And I couldn't believe it, either. The folds must have been so painful to make! He has a giant version of it in his common room made of construction paper, too. XD

  4. Thanks for trying our Kit! We’re glad you enjoyed it. For other delicious recipe ideas, visit http://www.auntieannesrecipes.com. Happy Snacking!

Leave a Reply

