L’Oreal One Sweep Eyeshadow and Double Extend Eye Illuminator Mascara

Because I’m a BzzAgent, I’m often given the opportunity to try out new products for free and share my opinion of them with people like you guys! : ) This time, in partnership with L’Oreal Paris, I receive full-sized samples of The One Sweep Eyeshadow in Playful for Brown Eyes and the Double Extend Eye Illuminator Mascara in Black Quartz for Brown Eyes.

I was already familiar with The One Sweep Eyeshadow before it arrived in the mail, as I’d seen commercials on television advertising the product. The shades in Playful for Brown Eyes were all shimmery: lavender, silver-brown, and light pink. The lavender is meant to be applied closest to your lashline, while the light pink serves as a highlight and the silver-brown works to blend the two together.

The product claims that one sweep with the large brush is enough to be makeup-ready, but since the colors came out to be a little too sheer for my liking, I found myself sweeping twice. The unique brush is the perfect size for my eye shape, but it makes me wonder how it will fare against other women’s features. I found the application very easy and quick, though. The color combination compliments my brown eyes, too. But the next photos don’t accurately depict how it looks on me – the shimmer is actually quite pretty and multi-faceted, not as flat and silver like how it was captured in these pictures. It also blends well with my skin tone, it’s only my camera that makes me look washed out here. >.<;

As for the Double Extend Eye Illuminator, it’s a double-ended mascara. One side contains the actual black base, while the other end contains glittery color that’s dependent on which shade you have. Black Quartz has dark bronze-gold glitter.

Personally, I didn’t like it because it had no lengthening or volumizing properties. Essentially, it’s a mediocre black mascara. The only thing that makes it unique is the other end, which is difficult to apply anyway. The glitter doesn’t adhere well, nor in large quantities. It gets annoying, too, when you’re walking outside in the sunlight (or walk by a bright light at night) and all of a sudden see glitter reflections in the upper area of your vision – not cool. The photos I took of my naked eyelashes versus wearing this mascara barely look like there’s any difference, so I won’t even bother posting them. I’m probably giving this tube away. What a disappointment! :(

Overall, I would recommend The One Sweep Eyeshadow if you’re looking for fast and easy makeup application. Very useful for the mornings where I wake up slightly later than I wanted to, and just want to quickly put something on then run out the door. But the Double Extend Eye Illuminator? Don’t waste your time or money. Until next time!

3 responses to “L’Oreal One Sweep Eyeshadow and Double Extend Eye Illuminator Mascara

  1. That’s a shame about the mascara :( My cousin was nice enough to get me a mascara with a balled tip from Givenchy, and I rather like it. The only risk I see with it is that it may clump on my eyelashes if I carelessly apply it.

    I really like the eyeshadow you got there! :)

  2. I have no idea why WordPress didn’t post my comment the first time around. And I have no idea how I got “unsubscribed” to your blog, but I’m subscribed again haha.

    That’s ashame about the mascara. It seems to have a balled tip? My cousin had given me a Givenchy ball tipped applicator mascara, and I liked it a lot. Packed a lot of pigmentation and length for one application. Though the problem was that it clumps if I am too careless when applying it in the morning.

    I really like the eyeshadow you have there :) Love the color & shimmer.

    • Yeah, sometimes WordPress gets a little glitchy on me too. >.<; And thank you! I can't complain about free makeup, but this one is just something I don't think anyone should buy. Haha. I haven't looked into Givenchy much, but they're a pretty high-end brand. Perhaps one day I'll have the opportunity to give their cosmetics a try. : )

Leave a Reply

