Retail Therapy

Since I was sick all this week, to the point that I missed a few classes, and was actually starting to feel a little better by yesterday afternoon.. I decided that going shopping would be the best thing to do in order to cheer myself up. : )

As regular readers of this blog may know, I’ve lost a significant amount of weight in a really short span of time – 15 lbs. in roughly 3 months. When I first set a goal to be 110 lbs., I promised myself that I wouldn’t buy clothes until I had reached it. Unfortunately, without adding exercise into my routine, I have currently plateaued and can no longer lose any more weight from just dieting alone (without starving myself). So I figured it wouldn’t hurt to go shopping. In fact, it was much easier! Now that I’ve dropped a size, trying on clothes in the fitting room makes me feel great about myself. :D

Anyway, I immediately walked into H&M when I arrived at the mall. I know that I’ve mentioned that I already had enough floral pieces in my wardrobe, but I couldn’t help myself – this dress was way too cute and only $14.50! Unfortunately, the lighting in this room was terrible.. so the colors shown in these photos may not be the most accurate. Here’s a close-up of the pattern:

While I was there, I also found a great pair of lacy bike shorts that reminded me of one of my earliest blog posts! You can read it here. : ) The great thing about these shorts was that they were the perfect length and super cheap! The rise is a little high, but I don’t mind. I plan to be wearing them peeking out from under short dresses and tunic tops all spring and summer! ; )


They look much cuter on my legs than on the floor. :P

After that, I spent a good amount of time digging through the messy racks of Forever 21. I eventually came across a drapey vest with a lace panel and bow on the back that was practically screaming my name. To be honest, I don’t like how it’s worn here in the photos from the website – I imagine it going better with less casual outfits.

I also stopped by Gilly Hicks, which is slowly becoming one of my favorite stores to shop at! Mostly because the atmosphere makes you feel warmly welcomed and sexy – dimmed lights, strongly fragranced clothing racks, a huge selection of underwear and clothes in every color imaginable, super friendly employees, and a luxurious fitting room that looks like a small hotel suite. I may actually start shopping there more often. :P Anyway, they were having a sale on all tanktops and I picked this one out. I was going to buy the same style in two or three other colors, too, but that would have been going overboard. XD

And because I went to a party last night, I took the opportunity to wear two of my new acquisitions! ;D Sorry that I had to pixelate myself in this photo – I was making a really stupid face. :P Until next time! ^o^

4 responses to “Retail Therapy

  1. You look great, and I love your face <3

  2. improperintegirl

    I love the print on that tank top! I’ve never heard of Gilly Hicks, are they at Roosevelt Field Mall?

    I also agree with the vest not looking too great when paired with uncasual attire. It looks way better in the outfit you put together =D

    • Thank you! And I had never heard of Gilly Hicks, either, since it’s not located at either Roosevelt Field or Queens Center Mall. The Smith Haven Mall right by my school has one, and that’s how I found out about them. According to their website, there are currently only 18 store locations in the US. I really, really hope they expand, though! The material they use for all their clothes and underwear is SO SOFT. And despite being owned by Abercrombie, the prices are pretty reasonable for the quality. They don’t obnoxiously label their clothing with the name of the store like Hollister does, either, which I’m grateful for. : )

Leave a Reply

