Crocs

Let me begin by saying that I hate Crocs. I think the classic design is fugly, and the rest of the line is an eyesore. I find them even more distasteful than Uggs.

So imagine my surprise when I was browsing Zappos, and came across a cute pair of flats – only to find out that the brand that produced them was Crocs. The Lady style in Oyster (a soft, off-white color) is the most feminine design I’ve seen them come out with. The narrow style, slingback strap, and peep-toe give off a hint of daintiness, too.

I was a little skeptical at first, but upon reading several reviews I decided that it wouldn’t hurt to try them out. Especially since Zappos offers free shipping both ways! :P The price wasn’t too bad, either. I’ve become tired of cheap $10-$20 flats that would only last me a few seasons because they’re poorly constructed. You get what you pay for, after all.

After doing some research, I found out that contrary to popular belief, Crocs aren’t made of “plastic” or “rubber”. They’re actually made of a Patented Closed Cell Resin – which is a soft, lightweight material that molds to your arch and is anti-microbial in nature. Which is perfect, since I have hyperhidrosis of the hands and feet. And as we all know, sweaty feet leads to the build up of bacteria and odor in your shoes. I was hoping this pair would solve all my problems without having to buy a new pair all the time, or an expensive pair of breathable shoes from Geox (which I know would last me forever).img-thing


Anyway.. my package came in the mail yesterday, making the total delivery time only four business days! My boyfriend has ordered a pair of red Converse from Zappos last month at 7pm and received it the very next day, so the company is very reliable when it comes to quick shipping. : ) The pair of Chuck Taylors my boyfriend ordered. ;D

Does the pair fit true to size? Well, I’m usually a size 6 in US Women’s, and these run at least one size large. How disappointing! Furthermore, the photos and reviews on the website were incredibly misleading. The texture of the outside looks very bumpy and cheap, whereas the pictures depicted it as smooth. Other customers also mentioned that wearing the shoes felt like walking on marshmallows. My feet actually feel like they’re walking in something too squishy and warm – not appealing or comfortable at all. Needless to say, I’m returning them later this afternoon.
I guess finding the perfect pair of flats will have to wait another day. 

2 responses to “Crocs

  1. Thank goodness I’m not the only one that hates Crocs.
    You may want to splurge on those Geox flats. They look very classy.

Leave a Reply

