Don’t worry, I’m still alive.

I know it’s been a while since my last post, but I’ve been incredibly busy. I had three midterms last week, and just couldn’t find the time. I really try to stay consistent with how often I update, but personal priorities always come first. Once again, I’m sick. :'( My throat hurts when I speak, and my phlegm is chunky and yellow. Too much information, I know. But it’s a good sign, since I at least know that my body is fighting off some sort of bacteria.

Several people have addressed that the reason I’m getting sick so often is because I’m not eating enough. Yes, I’ve gone through a significant lifestyle and diet change over the past few months, and it’s probably the reason why I’m constantly falling ill. I promise to start getting all my nutrients from now on, though. I’m tired of taking Nyquil, Sudafed, and Ibuprofen all the time. I admit that I may have taken dieting too far.

In other news, the pain in my jaw is getting slightly worse. I self-diagnosed myself with TMJ syndrome a couple weeks ago, when I found that I couldn’t fully open my mouth anymore. I still have to see my dentist in two weeks, and find out what method she recommends for treating it. Hopefully, I won’t need surgery – all the photos and stories I see online are starting to scare me. Especially since I still currently can’t open my jaw wide enough to take a bite out of a sandwich. But I’ll save all that information for a future post, when I actually know what’s going on.

Anyway, I’m starting to appreciate the history classes I’m taking. Last Friday, I was taking my midterm exam for History and Reform in the United States during 1877-1919. Prior to the exam, I felt like I had learned nothing from the class despite attending every single one of the lectures. It was only until I had to write a six-paragraph essay analyzing the painting American Progress by John Gast that I realized just how much I actually know about the post-Civil War and Reconstruction Era. I’m surprised that I finished writing it in under 30 minutes!

As for my other history course, Slavery in Latin America and the Caribbean has become my most interesting class this semester. We mostly read primary documents about the economy of slave-based plantations and discuss the relationships between white and colored individuals of the time. Much of the material can be shocking, since high school history classes leave out the crude details. One of the more controversial arguments we had in class was, Are black and colored female slave traders considered savvy business women or race traitors?”

If I hadn’t taken this course, I would have definitely gone with the latter, but from what I’ve learned so far this semester I wrote three whole pages on my exam about why I believe they were business women. Since I take this class with my boyfriend Michael, we often disagree and argue about points made in class. I don’t really mind, though, since there’s no real “correct” answer – just speculation, analysis, and simple facts. There are fewer written documents on this topic compared to other facets of history, after all.

Well, I guess that’s it for my end. How have you guys been?

5 responses to “Don’t worry, I’m still alive.

  1. I’m glad to hear that your phlegm is nice & colorful :) Gooooo immune system!

    I was surprised when you said you were cutting your caloric intake to 800 or so calories per day, but I didn’t want to say anything b/c I figured everyone’s body works differently. I think the basal caloric need is 1000-1200 calories at least for a female adult. When I tried aiming for about 1000 calories intake, my body ended up going into “starvation mode” and tried to conserve fat. Then, I tried working out everyday, which was fine until school life came back & my gym visiting days were nonexistent again and so were my muscles.

    And that’s why I’m scared to calorie count again :(

    • It was working for a while, which is why I wasn’t worried. It’s only now that it’s been giving me trouble. =/ I don’t plan to increase my intake, but I do want to eat more nutrient-dense foods like fruit and vegetables. All I’ve had time for recently are soups and diet soda. Not healthy, I know – since they’re pretty much just empty calories and sodium. :'( I need to take better care of myself. Once my meal points run out, I plan on cooking a ton! Thank you for the concern, though.

      • Ahh thus is the life of a college student! Always on the run :) G’luck with your nutrient-dense approach. The lovely thing about vegetables is that they can be yummy & no matter how you cook them/how they are prepared, they tend to be low-cal :) My personal favorites are zucchini and mushrooms, which I doubt the “meaty” aka filling & flavorful members of the vegetable family.

  2. improperintegirl

    If you’re going to be eating less you need to take supplements. I take supplements because even when I do eat well, I don’t think my body absorbs it all. And even though things like vitamin water add calories, at times when I’ve been sick I find it necessary… if I drank water I felt my electrolytes getting diluted. Right now I take a multi vitamin a few days a week, calcium a few days a week, B12, glutamine and probiotics every day.

    Also, I have TMJ. All you’ll need is a night bite guard to prevent your jaw from grinding against your upper teeth. They’re pretty expensive if you don’t have dental insurance.. I know mine cost at least $200 and that was 4 or 5 years ago.

Leave a Reply

