L’Oreal Super Blonde Creme Lightening Kit

For those of you who are new readers and subscribers, let me begin by saying that I’ve been lightening my hair little by little for the past couple of months – in hopes of being blonde one day. Because I have naturally dark Asian hair, getting it to go more than a shade or two lighter in one application (without damaging it too much) is almost impossible to do without spending a ludicrous amount of money at a salon. Thus, I’ve been content buying boxes of drugstore hair dye.

Yesterday was different, though. I stepped outside of my Garnier Nutrisse comfort zone and bought the L’Oreal Super Blonde Creme Lightening Kit.

The difference between this and what I’ve previously been using is that this was bleach, not hair dye. I’m no stranger to bleach, but I’ve had my fair share of bad experiences. The most recent was two years ago, when six inches of blonde hair broke off over the course of two weeks because I had left the bleach in for too long. I wasn’t going to make the same mistake again.

To ensure that my entire head would be saturated evenly, I had my boyfriend take care of the application for me. He did the roots first, then the length. Because my ends were already blonde and overprocessed, I warned him not to apply too much onto them.

I left the bleach in my hair for only twelve minutes before rinsing it out – only because my roots were lightening significantly faster than the rest of my head.

As you can see from the results above, my hair did lighten. The difference is much more significant in person, though. The photo below compares the color of my ends to the color of my length. The color didn’t turn out uneven – it just has that really cool gradient effect, giving the illusion of highlights.

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how my hair came out. Would I buy the product again? Probably not. It’s a little more expensive than what I’m used to paying – $12 instead of $8. The amount of product they gave was perfect, though. The only downside is that my hair felt like straw afterwards. But that was to be expected, right? Looks like I’ll be on a strict conditioner-only regimen for the next couple of days. Minimal heat styling throughout the week, too!

Should I dare go even lighter next month? 

8 responses to “L’Oreal Super Blonde Creme Lightening Kit

  1. improperintegirl

    my sister uses l’oreal.. though i don’t think she’s used the bleach dyes. i really like the way your color turned out this time!! and if you want to try the new clairol foam hair dye in the future i have a coupon for a free bottle!!

  2. It looks great! If you don’t like the brassiness of it, you should definitely buy some toner, I use Clairol Shimmering Lights Shampoo, it’s only around $10, but you don’t use it every night. Mine was a little brassy/slightly orange after bleaching, I used the shampoo twice, and now it’s blonde. I’m not sure if it’s just the flash making it look brassy, though.

    But you should definitely go lighter!

  3. Could you explain how your boyfriend applies dye/bleach in your hair? I would like to know how you get your roots to be so well even with your previously dyed hair.

    Whenever I dye my whole head my naturally black roots tend to be darker than the rest of my hair.
    Could you pleeease help me with this problem? :| thanks!!

    And I absolutely loooove our hair color. Super gorgeous. :D

    • My boyfriend first separated my hair into three sections, then applied the bleach onto the roots only. After this, he saturated the rest of my hair with the bleach, starting from the bottom layer. If you do this, your roots should come out even. Good luck, and thank you! : )

  4. makeupfreeeeeeak

    I bought loreal super blonde today, I have light caramel/orangie hair color, something like this http://www.itsbeauty.com/f/rockkas/44804766.jpg
    My roots are dark brown with reddish undertones. Should I only dye my hair with 1 powder?

  5. Hi there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

