Trend Alert: Box Tees & Combat Boots

Box tees are very loose, drapey, and often cropped t-shirts. Lately, I’ve seen them being printed with trendy graphics and/or quotes adorning the front. I’m sure you guys have seen this trend becoming more and more popular as warmer weather approaches.

Reasons why I don’t like this trend:
1) It’s unflattering to most body types. From the photos in this post to the  racks in your favorite store, any girl who isn’t stick-thin will immediately know this style isn’t for them. Because these shirts tend to be very loose, it makes curvier girls look (as the name implies) like a box. I’m far from being “fat” anymore, yet anytime I pull out one of these shirts from my closet, I look ridiculously large from the side – mostly because these kinds of shirts drape over my C-cup breasts and give the illusion that my stomach sticks out just as far. I’m a huge fan of clothes that are universally flattering, and these aren’t it.

2) It can easily look trashy if worn incorrectly. Because many box tees are cropped, it immediately creates the risk of looking cheap. In fact, when I see girls wearing cropped box shirts (that go above their pierced bellybutton) with super light-washed denim or leggings, all I can think of is TRAILER TRASH. No offense, but if you’re going to wear this trend, please be tasteful about it.

3) It looks too casual. For any of you who have read my rant about wearing pajama pants with Uggs, you know that I cannot tolerate it when people dress inappropriately for certain occasions. I went to a funeral last month and spotted a girl wearing one of these shirts in dark grey. Yes, it could have been appropriate if the material was right, but it was made of cotton and had a tacky graphic print on the front. Just.. no. There’s no way around it – wearing a box tee will make you look lazy 90% of the time, once again depending on the design and material. The only time I ever wear mine is when I know I’m going to be inside all day or during exam weeks, when I don’t really care what I look like.

What do you guys think?  

In other news, I noticed that I’ve been wearing my black combat boots a lot lately. Because I left my pink rain boots at home again, I’ve been wearing these every time there’s been any sign of precipitation. Not only are they weather resistant, but give an edgy touch to your outfit. My favorite coordination is wearing them with tights and a floral dress! Here’s me wearing my pair with denim leggings the other day because it was thunder-storming outside. Excuse the awful photo quality – there isn’t anywhere in my room with better lighting. :'(

Although wearing combat boots can look pretty badass, it’s very easy for your outfit to be misinterpreted as a weak attempt to recreate a “punk” or “goth” look. To avoid this, stray away from the stereotype fashion of each subculture – plaid pants, ripped denim, unnecessary metal embellishments, fishnet stockings, long black skirts, black lace, etc.

You should be fine as long as you keep the rest of your outfit simple. When wearing combat boots, they should be the highlight of your outfit and shouldn’t be overpowered by anything else. Which reminds me, I’d love to own a pair of black low-cut Doc Martens – I would literally wear them with EVERYTHING. x_x I wish they didn’t cost $100+, though. :'( Here’s one of my favorite Lookbook.nu members Rachel-Marie rocking a pair in red.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!

6 responses to “Trend Alert: Box Tees & Combat Boots

  1. Box tops? Werent they once for school funding? Haha, but really, no. I dont see why they’re big right now. Very unflattering.

    As for the red shoes, I love them! LOVE! I do like that they are ankle height, since my big calves make it impossible for me to wear any high topped shoes.
    p.s. I should probably start posting looks on lookbook. >.>

    • I’m in love with Rachel-Marie. <3 And I don't understand the box top trend, either! Where are your model photos from that shoot? Use those for your Lookbook. : )

      • Money’s been tight and I havent paid for them just yet. :(
        But definitely soon. My next couple of paychecks are going to turn things around.

  2. improperintegirl

    I actually haven’t seen or noticed box tees at all.. but they look stupid. Being cropped really does make them look trashy, 50% of the time when there was a skank on the late 80s/early 90s show Married With Children, she was wearing some kind of a cropped shirt. I mean I’m a stick but I wouldn’t wear those because I don’t feel like showing the world my mid-drift XD
    For a similar look that’s a bit more flattering, I prefer to cut the rim of the neck and sleeves off of an unfitted t-shirt. I don’t know how well that would work on curvy types, but it would probably work somewhat better since the length of a t-shirt is longer.

    And I love Doc Martins. I liked them before they came back in style. I got my pair at a swap meet in California (about 3 years ago) for $60. I also remember seeing some at somewhat decent discounts on overstock.com.

    • I actually remember Married With Children! And yes, crop tops look very trashy most of the time. >.<; I'd never show off my midriff that way, even if I had the body. Also, I do that all the time with unfitted t-shirts! So comfy. :3 And I'd kill for a pair of Doc Martens. x_x I'll keep a lookout on sites like Overstock and Zappos for any sales, haha.

  3. Pingback: Trend Alert: Bralettes | kristina mirasol

Leave a Reply

