Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days

Since I found myself with some free time recently.. I decided to download a Nintendo DS emulator last night, along with the ROM for Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days. Although I do believe that I’ve somewhat outgrown video games that are targeted towards a younger audience, it’s nice to just sit back and relax with one once in a while.

It took a lot of tinkering around with the settings until it would run the game “smoothly” on my computer. (My laptop is pretty old and unbearably slow, fyi. It has been through a lot, after all.) Even with the sound and video settings at the lowest possible quality, the graphics and gameplay still lag. I haven’t gotten far into the game, though, and am still considering whether I should continue or not. The storyline is pretty slow at first, and I don’t know if I should keep playing if my experience is going to be like this the entire way through.

I’ve been getting frustrated with my laptop more and more each day. For over a year now, I’ve had a non-functioning battery – so if ever the cord gets accidentally unplugged (which happens very often), my machine shuts off instantly. =/ I don’t want to buy a new battery, not only because they cost $60-$100, but because my laptop is complete garbage to begin with. I’ve reinstalled Windows 7 about three or four times now, but it’s not completely compatible with my computer since it originally came with Windows Vista.

When the time does come for me to replace my machine, I’m still undecided as to whether I should get another notebook or a netbook this time. As a college student, the netbook would be practical  – 13+ hours of battery life, internet browsing, and word processing, in a compact size. But as my own person, a laptop has the capability to do things I enjoy – run large applications like Photoshop, stream videos faster, etc.My lifestyle calls for both, but my budget can only afford one. =/ Hopefully, I’ll be able to save up enough money to buy one of them before my current one is permanently out of commission. >.<;

In other news, I went out to Target and purchased the Studio Tools kabuki brush and NYC Translucent Loose Powder the other day – mostly because I realized that my new blush is way too pigmented to share a brush with any of my other makeup, and I needed something to set my foundation with. Both were super cheap, too! The brush is very fluffy, and the loose powder does a good job with keeping my face matte for most of the day. I have nothing to complain about. :P

6 responses to “Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days

  1. I’ve been having similar issues with my computer

  2. Yeah netbooks are better if you just need one to take notes in class and process word documents, check email etc, although if you’re like me and you def sound like it, if your laptop will be your only computer, you realistically want one that’s able to do stuff outside of that…Hey if you ever need me to help you find good deals for the best price just let me know!

    Oh yeah, and 358/2 days I thought was the worst KH by far, although John thinks otherwise, it was too slow for me. Birth by Sleep however I thought was one of the best with how many plotholes it fills, but the series is seriously dragging on for too long. By the time KH3 comes out, the people who started with KH1 will be midway through their 20’s.

    • I would die without Photoshop on my computer! x_x And yeah, the game is pretty boring thus far. I’ll consider finding an emulator for Birth by Sleep when I have the free time. : ) And I will take you up on that offer on finding good deals! I just need to save up for now. :P

  3. YES. Birth By Sleep is BEAUTIFUL. I’m never one for sequels, and I totally agree with you, 358/2 Days is kind of painful to go through most days, but it’s still an enjoy able game!

    Netbooks are so cute and tempting. My roomie has one now, and she takes it with her to class and leaves her music filled, Photoshop/tablet application filled, photo/picture crazy, fickle laptop at home, 35 minutes away from campus. If my internship is gracious enough I think I will treat my current laptop as if it were a desktop and save myself some paper and take notes on my powerpoint slides and pdfs.

    On a random note, any blushes you recommend :)? I had to chuck mine recently due to old age (RIP).

    • Now I’m dying to play Birth by Sleep! >.<; I may just buy another laptop in the long run – I'm afraid of breaking a netbook almost immediately if I buy one. XD And to be honest, I don't have much experience with blush. I've stuck with one drugstore brand (Wet'n'Wild) for a long time, but I'm really enjoying my new MAC blush. : ) It's a little expensive, but if there's a flea market near you they sell them for 50% off!

  4. Correction: recoded is the worst KH by far; I actually gave up on that one. I thought 358/2 had fun gameplay so long as it wasn’t forcing a tutorial down your throat, and yea the story is reaaaaaally slow, but that last quarter of the game was great and the ending was sad :(

Leave a Reply

