Food Update! (via Instagram)

Some of you guys may not remember, but I once mentioned an app that I downloaded a few months ago called Instagram. It gives photos a nice vintage look. Most importantly of all, the app is completely free! They’ve since added some new filters now, too. Which effectively masks the fact that the front-facing camera of the iPod Touch sucks. >.<;

So I thought it would be nice to share some of what I’ve been eating both on and off campus using Instagram! I’ve really been watching my weight lately, despite already losing 12-13 lbs since starting the Lose it! program. My current daily calorie intake has been whittled down to a mere 790 calories. :'( Which I was shocked to see at first, but it’s been getting easier. Since I walk around campus every day for a total of at least 90 minutes, I earn myself an extra 200-250 calories to eat!

Something I’ve really been making a conscious effort to do is eat fish instead of any other meat, since they contain “good” fats and oils. Thus, I’ve been enjoying sushi pretty often on campus! The plate pictured above isn’t my favorite combination, though. I usually ask one of the sushi chefs to make me a fresh eel-tuna-cucumber roll topped with spicy mayo, along with 3 pieces of salmon sashimi. SO DELICIOUS!! <3

I’ve also been avoiding heavy carbs as much as possible. Although I firmly believe that eating ordinary salads is both boring and torturous, I find nothing wrong with eating a more interesting alternative! Pictured on the left is my shrimp taco salad that I had for lunch the other day. ; ) I never eat the tostada shell, though!

Of course, I still like to indulge in the finer things in life once in a while. For example, I went out to dinner tonight at Ruby Tuesday! Although I did order the healthy Creole Shrimp Salad as my entrée, Michael and I shared the 909-calorie Double Chocolate Cake afterwards. ; )

As far as campus food goes, I get ridiculous cravings throughout the day because my classes are spaced apart very strangely. Lately, I’ve been drinking a ton of diet soda – which I’ve never done before. >.<; And snacking on Rold Gold Honey Wheat Braided Twists have saved me several times from eating an extra meal! They’re just so good. : )

And I know this image isn’t Instagram’d, but it’s my latest favorite! Michael bought a 30-sachet tin of Harney & Sons Earl Grey Imperial tea from the Starbucks inside our local Barnes & Noble the other day, and I love it! I already have their tin of Green Tea w/ Coconut, Ginger, & Vanilla. ; ) And speaking of Harney & Sons.. they promised to send me samples of their other flavors to blog about over a month ago, but they never arrived in the mail. :'(

They’re probably super busy, though, so I’ll just be patient. Until next time! ^o^

3 responses to “Food Update! (via Instagram)

  1. Those Harney & Sons bums. They definitely owe you tea. Maybe it’s arrived in your old mail box?

    Besides that, your foods look good! I wish I could eat that little, but I think I’d get really hungry. I’m bad at this whole dieting thing lol.

  2. Pingback: Pro Blogger News

Leave a Reply

