Quick Trip to CVS

On my hunt for the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Commander in Chic, I found that the shade was sold out. :'( I fell in love with the formula and brush after borrowing my mom’s bottle in Plum Luck. And I’ve always adored the grey nail polish trend, but was never able to find a brand that wouldn’t chip. So I opted for Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro in Steel Grey instead, since I’ve heard that the brush was similar. It’s a wonderful taupe-grey with purple undertones: a perfect dupe for the ever-popular Metro Chic by OPI for Sephora!

While I was at CVS, I also decided to pick up NYC Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil in Dark Brown and Rimmel Lasting Finish 25H Foundation in 300 Sand, since I had a 10% off coupon. ; )

Because my skin is sensitive and acne-prone, I’ve avoided foundation for years. But after reading the great reviews for this on MakeupAlley, I caved in. Heaven knows I needed to do something about my terrible, uneven skin tone! Everyone seems to say that Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation is comparable to the Revlon ColorStay Foundation, which I had wanted to buy, but didn’t want to take the $10 plunge and commitment. Please excuse my naked face in the next photos, I’m quite self-conscious. >.<;

As you can see, Sand is a smidge too light for me, but thankfully not enough to be too noticeable. I just need to apply some blush for it to look natural. It softens the look of my face and hides my minor imperfections well with very little product! It does tend to bring attention to dry skin, so moisturize well and use a foundation primer if you have one. (I use Monistat Anti-Chafing Gel) The coverage is also buildable, but I like to keep it natural. Applying too much could result in that fake “airbrushed” look.

As for the NYC Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil, it works wonderfully as both an eyebrow pencil and eyeliner. It’s very creamy, although it would be too dark if I plan on coloring my hair any lighter. And because it’s waterproof, it stays put! I was having issues with my last Rimmel Special Eyes Eyeliner as an eyebrow pencil, because it would flake if I applied too many layers. Yuck! I’m glad I found a better alternative.

4 responses to “Quick Trip to CVS

  1. I know nothing about makeup. But I’m shocked you put a picture of yourself without it on the internets for all eyes to see. I’m proud of you.

  2. I know, I’m sorry. It’s just difficult to have self-esteem sometimes.

Leave a Reply

