Lose It!


For the past four weeks, I’ve been using an app on my iPod touch called Lose it! I wanted to wait and see if there were any results before posting about it, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve already lost about 7 or 8 pounds since starting the program. : )

As you guys may or may not know, I used to be clinically “obese” during high school – according to my doctor’s BMI chart, that is. The main reason for this was because I was diagnosed with PCOS. Over the years, I have learned to control it. I’ve since lost about 25 lbs, moving me into the “overweight” category. My goal is to move down one more BMI category to “normal weight”.

The premise of the app is simple: to log the foods you eat every day. Using their database, you can get a pretty accurate estimate of how many calories you’ve consumed. They even include the most popular restaurants, fast food chains, and supermarket brands! I even got my boyfriend to download this app, so we can diet together. :P

Lose it! claims that if I keep following their plan, I should lose another 25 lbs. by March 16th, 2011. : ) By that time, I may finally be able to menstruate regularly instead of this ‘every two or three months’ business. Here’s to hoping.

12 responses to “Lose It!

  1. Glad it has worked for you. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s to eat less bread and more veggies. Poultry is good too.

    I hope we can still binge together at school on occasion though!

    • Of course! I love the occasional pig-out with you. : ) I don’t really like vegetables, so I’ve been substituting them with lots of fruit. I was also worried that I wasn’t getting enough protein, either, but that’s what turkey is for! Miss you. <3

  2. improperintegirl

    Is this app free? I might download it onto my dad’s iPad. I need to gain about 10 lbs to be considered normal >.< I also only get my period about once every two months. Isn't it weird how being both over and under weight affects that?

    Anyway, congrats on the progress you've made so far! If you wanna go for more veggies, Morning Star Veggieburgers are the best brand of veggieburger that I've had. I don't know how many calories they have though. Also, replace red meat with turkey. One time Scott was at my house my mom made tacos with turkey meat and he couldn't tell the difference. Goat meat is also supposed to be very lean. Good luck with achieving your goals =D

    • Thank you! Yes, the app is free. I was using a different one before, but the nutrient information in that one was extremely inaccurate. Hopefully, it will help you out, too. : )

      I used to eat the Morning Star Veggie Sausages – they tasted just like meat! XD And I’ve come to appreciate turkey. I haven’t eaten red meat in a really long time, haha.

  3. Awesome, congrats! I’ve lost a lot of weight phasing soda out of my diet, and I’ve started to have fruit every morning to balance out my diet. Improved my singing voice too! I’m still not 100% healthy in my habits, and crack the Coke at least once a week, but I’ve definitely regulated my reflux and feel better.

    • I’m glad that your reflux is getting better. : ) I can’t stand soda – except for Dr. Pepper and Coke Zero, of course, both of which I rarely drink anyway. Haha. Now that your voice is better, I expect to see you soon and get our Rock Band on. :P

  4. Wow that’s a great app! When I used to do my food log in a notebook or blogged it online, it was really annoying because I would have to remember to write my meals periodically and then research the caloric count (which would take up to an hour sometimes >.<) This is uber useful & convenient!

    Best of luck on your weight loss track :) Just make sure you are meeting at least your daily basic caloric needs for a person of your size! Congrats on the great progress you've made so far ;D

  5. Pingback: Food Update! (via Instagram) | My (Life)Style ♥

  6. Pingback: Healthier Choices | My (Life)Style ♥

  7. Omg im so glad i camer across your site.. i love it and i especially love this post cause you mentioned PCOS which im currently battling. im obese as well trying to get down to overweight and then normal.
    How did you drop the weight i knows it hard tho…

Leave a Reply

