How to Cook: Sopas

For the past couple of days, I’ve been really sick – sore throat, runny nose, cough, fatigue, everything! I’ve been taking many of my friends’ advice on a natural approach to recovery – lots of tea and soup. I’m basically on a liquid diet. >.<; It’s a shame that I haven’t been able to work or go out, but I’ve been focusing my energy on other productive tasks in the meantime. Today, I cooked one of my favorite Filipino stews for dinner called sopas. It’s delicious, healthy, and very easy to make!

YOU WILL NEED: butter, garlic, onion, chicken breast, patis (fish sauce), hotdogs, pasta elbows, carrots, cabbage, and plenty of water!

Here, I’ve already cut up all the vegetables and meat:

First, you will need to boil some elbows in a large pot. Use only enough water to bring it to a boil. We will be adding more later!

While that’s boiling.. sauté your garlic and onion with butter in a separate pot. Add your chicken breast, and pour some patis for flavor. Once that’s cooked, add your hotdogs. Stir for a few minutes, then set aside.

Your elbows should be tender by now. Add the cabbage and carrots, then some more patis for flavor. Once the cabbage has softened, stir all your ingredients together in the larger pot. Add some more water, then let boil for a few more minutes. Taste, then add even more patis if you feel like it needs it.

Once it’s done, serve yourself some in a small bowl, and feel free to add a little bit of milk for a creamier flavor. Enjoy! ^o^

6 responses to “How to Cook: Sopas

  1. This looks so good! Though I’m not sure butter and hotdogs are healthy. I really need to try this though :-) After Sinigang! Or however you spell it.

  2. improperintegirl

    Based on the various Filipino recipes you’ve put up I’ve come to realize how very much into hotdogs you are… and here I was thinking spam was the most loved processed meat XD

  3. Pingback: Sopas | Seken

  4. Pingback: How to Cook: Spontaneous Stir-Fry | kristina mirasol

Leave a Reply

