Canola Oil Hair Treatment

Hey, guys! It’s been snowing here in my part of New York. The forecast predicts that we’ll be getting 14 inches – yikes! Here’s the view outside the front of my house earlier today, just as the blizzard was starting. I hope everyone shovels their sidewalks by tomorrow afternoon, as I’ll be going out. >.<;

Since my last coloring the other day, I’ve been really worrying about the state of my hair. It’s been feeling really dried out, and my ends are beginning to split. I remember the last time I fried my hair, I bought Bed Head’s Dumb Blonde Reconstructor and it was absolutely amazing.

I remember its delicious pineapple scent, and the way it saved my hair with its thick protein-packed formula. Truly a godsend. Unfortunately, quality damage repair products don’t come cheap. A mere 6-ounce tube of it costs $16! As a poor college student, I really can’t afford to be spending that kind of money. Thus, until I find a cheaper drugstore alternative to Dumb Blonde, I’ve been using some of my mom’s canola oil that she uses to cook. (Mostly because we currently don’t have any olive oil in the house.)

You don’t need much – just measure about an eighth of a cup of canola oil, and microwave it for a few seconds until warm. I apply the oil to the lower half of my hair only, and leave it in for about fifteen minutes before jumping in the shower. The effects are very nourishing, and make my hair soft without being greasy, since canola oil is lighter than olive oil.

It’s a little difficult to tell, but here in this photo that I took for my boyfriend, you can kind of see that the damage has been reduced since my last hair post – it doesn’t look like straw anymore! : ) I accidentally deleted the original picture, though, so I’m sorry that it’s in black and white.. :X

I don’t plan on using canola oil for too long, though, since there are a ton of hair products that  want to try out and review for you all. ; ) Until next time! ^o^

4 responses to “Canola Oil Hair Treatment

  1. I used to use Bed Head back when I bleached my hair from black to platinum. It was completely wrecked but Dumb Blonde really saved it!

  2. Pingback: Canola Oil Hair Treatment | My (Life)Style | hair treatment

  3. caca eres fea mira tus cejas

  4. Pingback: Top 10 GMO Foods to Avoid | Truth Feed

Leave a Reply

