Creative Gift-Wrapping

Now that Christmas is only one week away, I want to share with you guys how I’ve been doing my gift wrapping when I’m lacking funds or time to go out and buy wrapping paper, or just feel like personalizing a gift. Can you believe that a single roll of wrapping paper can cost you over $5? Forget that. This is a more creative way to give your friends, family, or loved ones their presents in style. : )

First of all, collect a couple of old magazines that you don’t mind tearing some pages out of. Preferably, you should tear out pages that are colorful and visually appealing.. Here, I took the prettiest advertisements from the October 2010 issue of Vogue. Trim the edges straight, and crop however you please, for a neater look.

Now arrange your pages on a flat surface in a way that will best cover the surface area of the gift you’re wrapping. In this case, I was wrapping a Christmas present for my parents, which came in a large box – so two by six pages was able to suffice. Keep in mind that you should take color schemes into account when arranging the layout of your pages.

Next, flip the the whole layout upside down. Don’t forget to mirror – the leftmost page on the right , and vice versa. Alternate the overlapping of your pages, making sure to keep the overlaps no more than a couple centimeters, and tape them all together thoroughly. Now that you have created your own “wrapping paper”, you can now use it as you would any other wrapping paper!

The finished product should look stunning – everyone will be impressed with your creativity! This method  isn’t only limited to Christmas presents, either. Constructing wrapping paper for someone’s birthday made of images that resonates with their personality or interests really gives it that personal touch. Last of all, have fun with it! ^o^

14 responses to “Creative Gift-Wrapping

  1. That is awesome!! I’m definitely going to use your idea this year!

  2. improperintegirl

    that looks pretty! but i’m a bit confused without step by step pictures of the wrapping process XD
    do you tape each page to the box.. or tape the pages together into a piece of wrapping paper?

    i also had a friend who would wrap stuff with the comic section of the newspaper. it works well since those pages are pretty large.

    • Haha, I understand. I wasn’t able to take photos of the putting-together process because I wasn’t planning on blogging about it. :X As I mentioned in my directions, I taped the pieces together on a flat surface like a table before wrapping the present. Hope that clears things up! If it doesn’t, I’ll go edit it. XD

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Creative Gift-Wrapping | My (Life)Style ♥ -- Topsy.com

  4. Very purdy! I’m sure your parents will appreciate it <3.

  5. omgsh this is awesome! i will have to use this technique for future birthday presents. maybe i’ll use some old anime magazines :)

  6. Pingback: It’s holiday season again. :) | kristina mirasol

  7. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    Is there a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  8. I think this is among the most vital information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  9. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would
    really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where
    you got your theme. With thanks

  10. Even though a homeowner may love a jungle in the backyard, those who might be buying a
    first home only see the potential for backbreaking labor or
    gardener costs to make room for a lawn. For example, if your goods are Shipping
    to England, make sure that the shipping company has all
    the required documents as per the requirements of England customs.
    However, technological innovations and the environmental concerns over aluminum materials prompted
    the multinational companies to make use of the plastic-laminated toothpaste tubes as an alternative.

Leave a Reply

