Where the Wild Things Are

For my Contemporary Masculinities course, I was required to read the children’s book Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak and watch its film adaptation. Because I mostly grew up on Dr. Suess and Walt Disney, this book was never part of my childhood, and my first time reading it was two days ago. I was actually surprised by how short it was, since all I’ve heard about it prior to my reading was that it won a Caldecott Medal. What surprised me even more was how it was stretched into a 101-minute film.

The storyline of the book was basically about how a mischievous boy named Max upsets his mother, gets sent to his room, finds his way into an imaginary world of monsters, and returns home upon realizing how much he missed and appreciated home and family. The film adaptation went much further than the book in terms of plot and character development and touches upon issues like divorce, growing up, and coping with change. The first few scenes actually resonated with me, and got me a little teary-eyed. >.<;

To be honest, I was expected a whole lot more from the film. Everyone was raving about it last year, after all. I just feel like there was too much sadness overall. The “wild things” that Max encounters are too fickle of creatures, and sometimes have awkward exchanges in dialogue. Furthermore, the ending didn’t give me enough closure. We have yet to discuss the film in class and how it ties with masculinity, but I’m really looking forward to it.

For this same class, I submitted a brief two-page essay last week on the Disney film The Lion King. It was supposed to be a critical response on how it relied on the structure of patriarchy and male dominance in order to sustain its narrative. To be honest, I didn’t give my 100% on this essay. In fact, the copy that I handed in was only my outline/draft because I was swamped with other kinds of work the night before it was due. It was a pleasant surprise when I got it back today and was given an A. :D Those Women’s Studies majors have to step up their game! For those of you who are interested, here are the scans, red pen marks and all. Click them to enlarge!

On a final note, I particularly liked my outfit the other day. Both the blue leopard-print dress and motorcycle hoodie are from H&M. I was wearing a pair of heeled ankle boots, too, but I had to crop my legs out because my calves looked too beefy. :X And, as I promised in a previous post, here’s what the #023 crisscross eBay lashes look like when I wore them yesterday. I cut one in half and only applied to my outer lids – it gives me the natural thickness I want. My eyeshadow and eyeliner turned out pretty decent that morning, too. XD

Until next time! :D

9 responses to “Where the Wild Things Are

  1. Haven’t read “Where the Wild Things Are” since like Kindergarten. I don’t remember too much about it, except that I never understood the point back when I was 6. P.S. I was reading in Kindergarten, because I’m bad ass.

    Also, that is totally NOT an A paper. But whatever floats your professor’s boat. At least you know going forward that you don’t have to put too much effort into the writing aspect of that class xD.

    Oh, and I like that dress, because without it we clearly wouldn’t be going out today. Though your hoodie appears to be crooked ;-)

    <3

    • I don’t think most 6-year-olds would be able to grasp the true meaning behind it. And I agree, it definitely wasn’t worth an A. >.<; I guess it was just luck this time. And you're silly. The zipper is supposed to be that way. :P

  2. Good job on the paper! :D Got an A in my English class last semester and didn’t do much, to be honest. My teacher liked my style, though, and is a respected authority on beat writers like Burroughs and Kerouac.

  3. improperintegirl

    I loved Where the Wild Things Are as a kid. I still have my copy of the book somewhere. I didn’t see the movie, I honestly don’t get why they turn childen’s picture books into movies anyway.. I thought the point of them was to get little kids into reading, not give their parents a movie to take them too.

    I liked your paper but didn’t think it was an A paper. I probably would have argued that all of the lion male dominance bullshit is how it is in real life with lions. The females hunt, and the *one* male eats first, then he goes and mates with all of the females. That’s just how lions are. Also this class is on contemporary masculinity? It seems to me like there’s been a mega decline in masculinity lately. One of the books I’m reading for my paper, Boys Adrift, attempts to explain why.

    Also, awesome eye-lashes ^^

    • Haha, thank you. I also admit that it wasn’t an A-worthy paper. As I mentioned, the final copy I handed in was only supposed to be my outline/draft. I didn’t even revise. >.<; And I suppose I could have added those things in, but my teacher is a little biased when it comes to views/opinions. Better safe to agree upon what we discussed in class, than to go out and introduce something he might not find relevant. You know?

  4. i tink that Lion King should also be considered as one the best animated films on the market **

Leave a Reply

