How to Cook: Pad Thai

Tonight, my mom and I cooked some pretty awesome Pad Thai for dinner. It’s really easy, actually. All you need to do is go to your local Asian grocery/market and pick up these things: noodles, ready-to-use Pad Thai sauce, peanuts, shrimp, scallions, soybean sprouts, and lime!

STEP ONE: Boil those noodles in a pot. Strain, then set aside.

STEP TWO: Grind those peanuts.

STEP THREE: Sauté your shrimp, diced scallions, and soybean sprouts in a pan. My Photoshop job in the image below is actually pretty impressive, so feel free to click on it to enlarge!

STEP FOUR: Add a liberal amount of Pad Thai sauce to your mixture in the pan.
If you look closely, I captured my mom in the background. XD

STEP FIVE: Mix the contents of your pan with the noodles. Top with a generous amount of ground peanuts, lime, and more Pad Thai sauce. Eat and enjoy!

And there you have it – a delicious and exotic meal, right in your own home. : )

In other news, it’s been getting colder on my campus much sooner than I expected. I’m bringing back a bunch of clothes and things from home to keep me warm and comfortable! :3

Because I have indoor allergies, particularly to dust, I’ve been having trouble sleeping for the past week. Thankfully, my mom bought me some medicine – Claritin Liqui-Gels, ftw! I also asked her to get me Q-tips while she was out, too, since I have other uses for them besides to clean my ears. They’re particularly handy when I’m cleaning up my makeup when I make mistakes from my hands being too shaky during application. She was also nice enough to pick up a bottle of facial cleanser for me, too! I’ve heard great things about Aveeno Skin Brightening Daily Scrub, so I requested it.

More importantly, I’m bringing back cooler-climate clothes. Up to this point, I’ve been living in shorts for the past four months. The transition back into skinny jeans and pants will be an awkward one, especially when I realize how much weight I’ve gained in my thighs! Let’s not forget my fall coats, either. : ) Pictured above are two favorite fall coats – I bought the black one from H&M last year, and the plaid one from Forever 21 about two years ago.

Last, but not least, I’m bringing back this awesome spill-proof water bottle. Because I try not to buy drinks on campus, mostly because it sucks up too many meal points, I’m constantly refilling a disposable plastic water bottle at fountains located around my campus. Having this cool blue one is just as practical, just more eco-friendly. XD That’s all for now, dear readers. Until next time!

11 responses to “How to Cook: Pad Thai

  1. That looks good! And easy – I like your Photoshop job. I wonder where you learned to do that ;-)

    You and I need to get to Pacsun to pick out some jeans for me (maybe). And a fish.

    Miss you still.

  2. Lets go shopping? :D
    The plaid coat is so cute <3

    And make me some Pad Thai one day, I love it! :D

  3. Lourdes B Mosquito

    I was so glad to spend the weekend preparing a different kind of meal with you- did you feel now that you did not miss the day we went out in a thai restaurant with out you- hopefully?

  4. i love pad thai. i’m so buying those ingredients the next time i go to to the aisan market.

    i did enlarge your photoshop job, it is awesome.

  5. Oh. My. God. I absolutely love pad thai! Make me some pwease<3 :D

  6. Pingback: How to Cook: Spontaneous Stir-Fry | kristina mirasol

Leave a Reply

