A package from an old childhood friend. <3

A couple of years ago, one of my dearest childhood friends moved to California. Now being at least 2,400 miles away from each other, and constantly preoccupied with our own busy lives, it’s sometimes hard to keep in touch. I picked up a package from Denise this morning at the post office, and was touched by how thoughtful she is. Being more of a “celebration of our friendship”, as opposed to a belated birthday present, she sent me a box full of nifty items! <3 The card almost made me tear up, too, but no one else supposed to know that. :P

On the far left is a collection of mounted artwork based on The Old Kingdom, a fantasy series written by Garth Nix. I read the books in middle school, and love them to this day. (The series consists of Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen.) Which reminds me to eventually re-read them all, as my memory is getting foggy. I plan to decorate my dorm room with these prints! : )

The phone stickers and mobile charm (which doubles as a phone cleaner) are super cute, and remind me of Japanese dekoden. I know that I’m definitely going to put them to good use. :D The candle holder is so chic, too, but unfortunately my dorm regulations say that I can’t keep candles around. So I’ll probably end up storing stuff in it instead! :3

She admitted to having read my blog before, to which I’m a little embarrassed. Mostly because I don’t put 100% into this. Hopefully, this will motivate me to put more effort into my posts than simply posting photos and adding a mere two sentences underneath them. XD I hope to be writing full articles one day! By the way, Denise is an animation & illustration major. And, believe me, she’s very talented at what she does. You can check out her blog here, and her deviantART here! :D Her artwork never ceases to amaze me. <3

In other news.. my beloved canvas tote bag from Barnes & Noble got destroyed, frayed, and faded in the wash yesterday. I’ve been using it for over three years to carry my school books, and I’ve somewhat grown attached to it. >.<; It was black, with gray book quotes printed on the entire thing – from classics such as Alice in Wonderland, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Scarlet Letter, The Great Gatsby, etc. Unfortunately, it’s long been discontinued, so you can’t even find it on the internet. :X So today, I went out in search for a new bag for school. Luckily for me, my mom covered it. :D

I found this Nine West tote at Burlington Coat Factory! The original price tag is a whopping $79, but it was on sale for $25. It was the last of its style, too. :3 The photo I took isn’t an accurate representation of the color, though. It’s a lovely, soft taupe. The tag says it’s “greige” – which I will assume means a cross between grey and beige. And that’s exactly what it is. My camera’s flash just makes it look a lot browner than it really is. It’s so spacious, too! Everything I need for my classes could easily fit, with some extra room for anything else. The little mini-pouch in the front is detachable, too, which is great since I think it looks really ugly.

The next time I blog, I’ll already be settled in my room at Stony Brook University. For now, I’m getting ready for a back-to-school celebration barbeque at my Tita’s house tonight!

2 responses to “A package from an old childhood friend. <3

  1. Aw, that’s so sweet! I’m glad you and your old friends have kept in touch. I can’t say the same about mine :-(

    And oh no! About your bag. That was your favorite! I can’t believe it broke. New one doesn’t look as nice, at least in pictures. The color is off-putting xD

    Can’t wait to see you tomorrow! We’ll eat somewhere nice :-)

Leave a Reply

