Alejandro~

Upon hearing that Lady Gaga’s new music video for Alejandro was being released today, I dropped whatever I was doing at the time and immediately looked it up on YouTube.

To be honest, I was a little disappointed. Alejandro is one of my favorites off her latest album, and I feel like the video didn’t express it the way I had imagined. Due to the lyrical context of the song, I was expecting it to be colorful, over-the-top, and glamorous – with “woman power” being the main subject matter. But the entire video is very dark, both literally and figuratively. There’s a very strong military and bondage theme throughout, as well.

Of course, I feel like it was directed and filmed well. I just don’t think it suited this particular song. My main issue was more about the aesthetics than anything else. First of all, I feel like the choreography was just pieced together from all her previous music videos – not very original. I also think the male backup dancers were moving a bit too feminine-like despite representing soldiers. A better choice of casting for them would have made the video more consistent.

This is also the first music video where Lady Gaga’s outfits didn’t catch my attention as much as they did in the past. In the beginning, I kind of got the feeling that they were trying to depict her as a sort of dark, steampunk-esque “ice queen”. Later, though, she wears simple black dress pants and a blouse with a plain, short wig. Of course, she also spends a good amount of time dancing in nothing but her undergarments, but that’s to be expected by now. When she comes out in a bra with attached gun barrels, I found it a bit tasteless. I honestly did like her red vinyl rendition of a nun, though.

2 responses to “Alejandro~

  1. Don’t question her. She is art. You’ll never understand her art. Art’s art. Art.

  2. Wow. well that dispelled the fact that this song was very reminiscent of Ace of Base for me, though I thoroughly enjoy Alejandro as well. When the gun bra popped out though, I couldn’t help but think “FemBot.” haha. Right now Bad Romance & Telephone are my fave videos from her (the latter mostly because it’s filled with Pulp Fiction references :D)

Leave a Reply

