Trend: Bicycle Shorts

Lately, I’ve really been digging the bike shorts trend. I remember growing up as a kid in the early 90’s and wearing these out to the park when I went rollerblading! But now I see them on runway models, or being sold at stores like Urban Outfitters and American Apparel – meant to be paired with more mature and dressier tops.

But now that they’re in fashion, a pair can go upwards from $20 at my local mall or shopping center. =/ Fortunately, being the resourceful individual that I am, I didn’t rush out and buy a pair for such a price. I knew that somewhere at home, my mother would have a pair stashed away in the back of her closet. And you know what? I was right. : )

These were my mom’s bike shorts from back in the day. I was really surprised by how well they fit me, the good condition they were in, and more importantly, how flattering these were to my thighs! Wow. Additionally, they pretty much match with half my closet. That’s honestly what I loved about this trend in the first place. Plus, you can dress it up or dress it down –  it’s a very versatile piece. Although I have never been a fan of the leggings trend, I can make the analogy that bike shorts are to spring and summer as leggings are to fall and winter.

These adorable lace bike shorts are available at Target for a mere $6 – what a steal! Whenever I get the chance to drop by there in the near future, I’m definitely grabbing myself a pair. ; )

5 responses to “Trend: Bicycle Shorts

  1. I’m going there tomorrow! Hmmm…. :?

  2. Oooh! I want that $6 pair of bike shorts! Looks cute! ;)

  3. Pingback: Retail Therapy | kristina mirasol

Leave a Reply

